scrappystickyinkymess

Landscape ATC hanging display – SO simple

4 Comments

Other ATC display posts: Easy Portrait orientation versionmore complicated Portrait version

Well, lest you think I am being facetious, know this – I DO know the actual meaning of the word LITERALLY and I am NOT exaggerating when I say this took me literally no more than 15 minutes to make (the basic design – of course the decorating took a little longer, cause I faff about with that sort of thing.)

It also made me think that it might be possible to cut down on the complexity of the Portrait-style one by omitting the side bars.  Although I do LIKE the frame around it, the bare-bones Landscape version does perhaps focus your eye on the ATCs.  I am pretty sure I know what needs to be done (and as a side benefit I suspect that 12×12 cardstock is going to work just fine) so may do a second post later with the info on that.  But if you look at this as well as the last post, I’m betting you won’t need that.

What you need:

  • 3 baseball card sleeves
  • 1 sheet of 12 x 12 cardstock
  • washi tape (ribbon could work)
  • double-sided adhesive (1/2 inch)
  • 2 inch wide packing tape
  • 2 large eyelets and cord/twine/ribbon to hang

Start your timer!  You could almost make this as fast as you can read it!

1. Lay two of the sleeves horizontal, with the front slit (where you slid in the ATCs) face DOWN.  The ring binder hole strip should be at the top. I added that little strip of washi tape to the front, like I did for the portrait version but not sure even scatterbrained me needed it.

Butt the edge of the hole strip of the second sleeve right up to the edge of the first one.

landscapeATCdisplay

The cardstock is there, but only to highlight the area I am speaking about.

2. Join the two with the packing tape.  Try to centre the join in the packing tape  strip.

2landscapeATCdisplay

3.  Cover the ring binder hole strip with the washi tape.  Standard sized washi tape should cover it perfectly without covering any of the display area.

3landscapeATCdisplay

4landscapeATCdisplay

4. Repeat with the third sleeve, adding it to the two joined sleeves.

5. Trim the 12 x 12 cardstock to 10 x 12 and score at 5 inches.  Fold and crease.

5landscapeATCdisplay

6. Add double-sided adhesive to one side of the ring binder hole strip and carefully stick one edge of the cardstock.

6landscapeATCdisplay

Make sure the edges of the cardstock don’t overlap the sleeve at all, but cover ONLY the ring binder strip.

7landscapeATCdisplay

Add more adhesive inside, and double-sided adhesive to the reverse of the ring binder strip then sandwich the strip within the cardstock

8landscapeATCdisplay

9landscapeATCdisplay

7. Add a large eyelets in each of the top corners and thread thru ribbon/twine/cord to create a hanger

Decorate and DONE.

10landscapeATCdisplay

11landscapeATCdisplay

It actually works perfectly, three horizontal sleeves match two vertical sleeves length-wise.

12landscapeATCdisplay

Those are hanging on the wall, in a not-very-well-lit corner, but you can see they are almost the same length.  Likewise, three  vertical sleeves would match (nearly) four horizontal ones (if that kind of thing matters to you LOL!)

See what I mean?  So simple.  Now I have to go BACK to the other one and try making a no-frame version and see how I like it. And I have yet another idea to try.  If it works. I’ll share.

I will then have more display sleeves than I have ATCs LOL!

4 thoughts on “Landscape ATC hanging display – SO simple

  1. Those are so cute. What a nice way to display your cards.

  2. Pingback: And you thought I was kidding… | scrappystickyinkymess

  3. Pingback: Hanging ATC display using baseball card sleeves | scrappystickyinkymess

  4. You are so clever I love this display, now this is thinking outside the box, good for you.

    Hugs Eliza

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

