scrappystickyinkymess

And you thought I was kidding…

5 Comments

Other ATC display posts: Easy Landscape orientation version, more complicated Portrait version

Hand on heart, I promise I didn’t manipulate time at all – I started this after I posted  the first one today, and in between then and now, I finished it.  Included in the time was a second cup of coffee, getting the family off for the day, and a few household tasks.

It is as simple as the landscape one and uses less in the way of supplies.

What you need:

  • 3 baseball card sleeves
  • 1 sheet of A4 or US letter cardstock
  • thin double-sided adhesive (and other large area adhesive)
  • washi tape
  • 2 large eyelets
  • cord/twine/ribbon for hanging

1. Carefully trim away the ring-binder hole strip from the sides of the sleeves.  Don’t trim too close – you don’t want to compromise the pockets!

2easyportraitATC

2. Add a line of thin double-sided adhesive to the top and bottom edge of two sleeves and just the top edge of the last one.

4easyportraitATC

3. Cut two 1 1/4 inch strips from your cardstock, across the width.

3easyportraitATC

4. Join the first sleeve to the second by sticking the BOTTOM line of adhesive on the first sleeve to the top edge of the cardstock strip then joining the TOP line of adhesive on the next sleeve to the bottom edge of the same cardstock strip.

5easyportraitATC

Join the third sleeve to the second sleeve n the same way.

5. Fill the gap between the two with washi tape to decorate (or ribbon, or patterned paper, or leave it plain!)

6. Take the leftover piece of cardstock. It will depend on what size card you started with as to your score line.  Find the middle and score 1/2 inch left or right of that, doesn’t matter which – you just want one side bigger than the other

6easyportraitATC

7. Stick the top line of adhesive on the first sleeve to the bottom edge of the back piece of your folded cardstock, making sure the FRONT piece does not overlap the slit for inserting your ATCs

7easyportraitATC

8. Punch holes and insert eyelets in the tip two corners of the cardstock topper and add cord/twine/ribbon as a hanger.

Decorate and DONE!

I streamlined the decorating by just using some punch out letters, a few buttons, a big flower and a strip of the same washi tape that covers the gaps between the sleeves.  Took no time at all.

8easyportraitATC

I have no more ATCs to display!  These are just bits I had cut from Gelli prints or other things that I was saving for ATC backgrounds.  See the join in this close up?  Not as polished as the full-frame version but it uses so little in the way of supplies and take so little time, that is a compromise I can live with LOL!

9easyportraitATC

I’ll maybe try to get some actual GOOD photos of these, if I can find a place that works, and links to all three posts to each one, just to make finding them all easy.

Now, I’ve promised an update of one of my calendars (from 2013) for 2015 and I am off to the Newbury Stamp show tomorrow, so I’d better get cracking!

5 thoughts on “And you thought I was kidding…

  1. Pingback: Landscape ATC hanging display – SO simple | scrappystickyinkymess

  2. Pingback: Hanging ATC display using baseball card sleeves | scrappystickyinkymess

  3. Nope I did not think you were kidding, I knew you would pull it off wonderfully.

    Have a great day.

    Hugs Eliza

  4. Thank you for sharing this clever idea.

    I always look forward to your posts.

    Happy thoughts,
    Petrina

  5. Ooh, great make may need to have a look around for these as often see then in charity shops etc where kids get bored and now us crafters can give them a new life:-) Kyla

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

