scrappystickyinkymess

The Three Stages of … mini-book

2 Comments

I had a hankering to make a mini book.  I am SO out of practice I was 1/2 way down the path before I thought DOH!  Forgot to take photos!!

I show you what it looks like and try to explain the construction with measurements.  Hopefully if you fancy it that will be enough for you t have a go.

The book is hard-cover, with a spine.  It has three sewn in signatures.

13stages

3stages

Each signature is a cream surround,  with a light blue and a dark blue “flap and page” inside.  I’m guessing that makes no sense LOL!  Maybe this will help? The surround….

23stages

and the flap and page sets:

33stages

From the top:

43stages

and opened up a bit:

53stages

The plan was to have three distinct sections – as DS is now 21 that divides nicely into 1 to 7, 8-14, and 15-21, or thereabouts.

What You Need:

  • two sheets of 12 x 12 cardstock (mine is cream)
  • two sheets of A4 or US letter cardstock (mine is light blue)
  • two sheets of A4 or US letter cardstock (mine is dark blue)
  • two 6 1/4 x 4 1/4 inch mat board
  • one 7/8 x 4 1/4 inch mat board (it probably wouldn’t matter to leave it at 1 inch)
  • nine eyelets
  • thick thread for binding
  • patterned paper to cover
  • adhesive

Feel free to use a sheet each of 12 x 12 cardstock instead of the two A4/US letter sheets.  I used what I had.

 

 

 

Create the “pages”

1. Cut the 12 x 12 cardstock into 4 x 12 inch strips. Score each piece at 3 inches and at 9 inches.  Fold inward so the two sides meet in the middle. Like so:

23stages

Let’s call that THE SURROUND

2. Cut both pieces of the lighter A4 cardstock down to 8 1/4 inches in length.  Cut into 4  inch strips (you’ll have four – you’ll use three)

3. Cut both pieces of the darker  A4 cardstock down to 8 3/4 inches in length.  Cut into 4  inch strips (you’ll have four – you’ll use three)

4. Score the three  lighter strips at 2 1/4 and crease (PAGE 1)

5. Score the three darker strips at 2 3/4 and crease (PAGE 2)

Create your signatures by nesting PAGE 2 inside PAGE 1 inside THE SURROUND

33stages

Make the cover:

1. Cover both sides of the two cover pieces with patterned paper.

2. Punch the binding holes in the spine piece.  Measure 1/4 inch down from the top and 1/4 inch up from the bottom and draw a line.  Draw a line across the middle.  Punch three holes across each line, spaced to allow the three eyelets to be set side by side.

3stages

3. Lay the spine piece between the two covers.  Leave a small gap between each section.  Cut TWO 3 x 4 1/4 inch strips of patterned paper to coordinate or contrast with the cover paper.  Stick this over a bit of the front cover, the entire spine and a bit of the back cover.  Crease along the gap. Re-punch the holes . You’ll need to see the position for the next step!

Can you see the strip in place behind the signatures? Sorry, same photo AGAIN.

23stages

4. Stick the other piece over the outside of the cover, again, a bit on the cover, completely over the spine, and onto the back cover.  Close the covers and make sure they open and close nicely by creasing along the gaps on the inside again, as in step 3.

5. RE-punch the spine holes and set the eyelets.

Finally, Using a three hole pamphlet stitch, sew each signature into the spine.

Sorry, that isn’t my best explained tutorial.    But I didn’t want to just put up a shot of the book and nothing else, so I HOPE it’s enough for it to make sense.  Ask if I can try to clear something up.

Now I get to spend a bit of time going thru boxes of old photos, and hunting back thru my iPhoto library.  I’m guessing I’ll cry.  Soppy old me….

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Three Stages of … mini-book

  1. Wow! I love your mini book – if it wasn’t for work tomorrow I’d be heading for my card stock to have a go right now:-)

  2. Hi Mary Anne, you have distracted me, I am supposed to be visiting the WOYWWs but saw the mini book and love it, will have to come back and have a better look later in the week. Happy crafting, Angela x

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

