scrappystickyinkymess

Practical uses for Thermomorph – the final review

4 Comments

READ THIS:

One of my commenters, a qualified Electrical Technician, says:

Fire can be caused by the amount of leakage of power as it comes down the lines from the main power source in the street and what your power box dumps etc. There are 2 types of appliances in your house and earthed appliance and a non earthed appliance. Your charger for your iPod, iPhone is a non earthed appliance which means the earth that it does not use has to return to the main power source therefore leaking back into the system. If your wires are broken this leakage can happen right where the damage is and not return to it’s intended source. I am hoping you understand me here. You are forcing a leaking appliance to not work properly and causing a potential health, life and fire hazard. Please for your own sake, just chop the item and replace it with a new one. 

I don’t know if the same thing applies to USA power (two-prong plugs, lower voltage) but I would prefer to err on the side of caution and not encourage people to do anything that might be potentially dangerous.  Given that I think I will just delete the rest of the post.

=====================

 

Overall, my thoughts are that Thermomorph is not only useful but a heck of a lot of fun to play with!  I still have LOADS of ideas I want to try out, pairing the Thermomorph with those silicone caulk molds, and will share if and when I follow thru. I’ve done a lot with it so far, even sharing our a bit at the WOYWW crop, and I still have well over 1/2 the 500 gram tub left.  I love that it can be re-heated and reused, so there is almost no waste. I am quite sure when my review tub is gone I’ll buy myself another one – it’s the kind of thing that I would want to have around when a new idea hits me!

Product Name: Thermomorph
Price: £19.95
Size: 500 grams
Material: Polymorph granules

Thermomorph Amazon page: polymorph
Thermomorph website: Thermomorph

US readers can try this link at Amazon USA instead.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Practical uses for Thermomorph – the final review

  1. Thanks for this one. I have always wished for something like this when I have to cut into a cable strain relief. I’m off to amazon.com to find me some. Best tip ever!

  2. I was really pleased to see how you were going until I read this post, then I was mortified to see what you had done with the cables. When playing with electrical items you need to not do this as the wire within is dangerous and you can get electrically shocked or even die. The copper in the wires has obviously been damaged hence it breaking which means it is stretched and week. Fire can be caused by the amount of leakage of power as it comes down the lines from the main power source in the street and what your power box dumps etc. There are 2 types of appliances in your house and earthed appliance and a non earthed appliance. Your charger for your iPod, iPhone is a non earthed appliance which means the earth that is does not use has to return to the main power source therefore leaking back into the system. If your wires are broken this leakage can happen right where the damage is and not return to it’s intended source. I am hoping you understand me here. You are forcing a leaking appliance to not work properly and causing a potential health, life and fire hazard. Please for your own sake, just chop the item and replace it with a new one. This in not a joke, electrical things should be repaired by a qualified repairer. Yes I am a qualified person as I am an Electrical Technician, please never encourage this, it is dangerous, I am sorry to be blunt like this, I am saying this because I care. Hopefully no friendship harm caused.

    Hugs Eliza

    • Please, worry not that I would take any offence 🙂 I did mention what I thought were strong enough warnings to take care, but as NOT an electrician, and more used to USA, lower voltage (and to be honest not sure if the two-prong plugs are earthed) plugs. I have seen (cause we ALWAYS have trouble with cables!) many methods for repairing cables using things a bit like Thermomorph but near as I can recall it was US-based sites.

      But I would be curious – the black cable, for example, the wires are clearly intact, they are just not covered by the housing. Do you see any potential danger there?

      I’ll add this info to the body of the post to make sure people see it. Thanks for explaining.

      Cheers

      MA

  3. Maryann

    Without inspecting the appliance myself I honestly cannot say if it is alright or not. Usually here in Australia the 2 pinned plugs mean there is no earth which means the earth needs to return to the supply because it is not used. The 3 pinned appliances are the earthed ones, this doesn’t necessarily mean all 3 pinned plugs are earthed appliances. sometimes the manufacturer puts on 3 pinned plugs for non earthed appliances because it is cheaper to produce, so therefore the 3rd wire being the earth wire just isn’t in the cable, like yours shows 2 wires a 3 pin will have 3 wires. If the cables out housing has stretched then the item is risky but the inner wires seem ok but they might not be. the outer housing should stay intact. This stretching and straining of the appliance makes me question how the damage has been caused. Is it through you tugging at the connection and causing it to come away, which means stretching of the cable. This ultimately means copper damage within that you cannot see. It is always to err on the side of caution. When using appliances like heaters, kettles and other things that need an element these are the earthed appliances and fault more than the non earthed because the elements within the heating section usually become defective first and cause issues, like tripping your mains for the house. Tripping is caused by a leaking earthed appliance or a damaged appliance Irons and kettles are common for this. The tripping shuts everything down usually supposedly eliminating the problem. In the case of the non earthed appliances, like the iPod cable the was a huge recall on copy cables because there was poor copper grade used in the cables and inadequate outer housing that was not of the correct insulation grade hence causing possible fire damage. This was for a non earthed product, hence still a huge risk. The outer casing for the wires is just as important as the inner wired cables because it needs to withstand conditions suitable. You can purchase a product that can fix this but in the states I don’t know where from. I would have to do some research on it, but I would just replace the item for fear of damage that is not visible or repair it myself LOL The best way to treat cords etc is to carefully with your hand ease them from the power source point, with the big connection being the plug it’s self, never just tug the appliance out.

    Thank you for pulling the post I just don’t want anyone to get the wrong idea that they can cover and fix something that is seriously damaged and then burning their house down. Think of the art supply cost to replace the items damaged and the grief and stress of loosing them in the first place. LOL Ok now I am turning this into a funny. Delete all my comments if you wish.

    I really do thank you for listening to me. I am at work but will check in soon if you need any more questions answered.

    Hugs Eliza

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

