scrappystickyinkymess

Printable Flairs – with a UK slant

12 Comments

It came up on UKS the other day that someone was looking for digital “flairs” – I had no idea that was what they were called!  They are the scrapper version of the badges I used to get from Paperchase years ago, without the need to pry off the pin at the back.  Anyway, the person wanted a few things:

  • they be printable
  • they be colourful
  • they be 1 inch in diameter (to match her clear epoxy dome stickers)
  • they be “less American”

I was forced to comment that she was asking an American (albeit one who has lived in the UK for the vast majority of the last 20 years) to be “less American” but that I would give it  go.

I ended up with three files.  First, there is a sheet of printable, in one step, flair badges.  Now I don’t claim to be an expert at digital design.  I do my best and overall I like what I do well enough to share it, but if you are looking for perfection in the 3D effect and the shadowing, you may do well to move on LOL!  This is the PDF.

UKflairSM

I played around with a way to allow you to have the flair bases then add the text or small image or indeed to add your own text, but given the many and varied settings of printer borders, paper sizes, feed dogs, etc I just wasn’t sure it would work.

Check this out:

My first sheet has very fine grey lines showing the placement of the blank circles.  My idea was you would print the decorative elements sheet over the printed BASE sheet.  Things shifted and the printer fed the sheet different and it all was a bit of a mess. So they I thought AHA!  I can print the base, stick the punched circles to it then print again.  I thought that way you would only print onto the circles you wanted and mix up the topper/base combos to suit you. Yeah, right.

3flairs

The paper still shifted and fe differently and the faint lines were not so faint when printed.  DOH!

4flairs

So then I though OK well I’ll remove the lines and any fractional shifting won’t matter as much as those lines will. So I did THAT. That give you TWO files – the FLAIR BASES and the EXTRAS.

Now, you will note there is a further difference.  That has to do with the WHITE bits on the pure printable version.  Basically when you are looking at a digital file and you see a WHITE area, you have to remember your printer cannot print white – it reads the white bits as “leave blank” so anything white printed over anything coloured will be, well, coloured.

flairs

So the pink heart, the star, the flourish have all been replaced by text.  The pac-man like Happy Eater figure, the boy and girl,  the cell phones and camera, the pointing fingers and the sideways chevrons print OK on LIGHTER coloured circles so long as you remember that anything WHITE will show the base colour thru it (the faces, the camera circle, etc)

7flairs

Now, there is no reason you can’t print the base circles then compose your OWN topper text and print/stick/print again – like my no-faint-circles file, any very slight shift in the second printing is not going to make a HUGE difference.  Just make sure you stick them well.  I would say that if you stuck the punched circles to the base sheet securely and fully, there is no reason you couldn’t leave then stuck then punch thru both layers.

Two more things – first, about punches.  These fit a TRUE 1″ in diameter punch.  Some 1″ punches are not 1 “.

2flairs

The original UKSer who asked about these wanted to use clear epoxy dome stickers over them,  But part of her reason for wanting these is she felt the commercial Flair badges were too thick for her PL book.  As an alternative I tried a few things:

5flairs

Bearing in mind I didn’t wait for the glossy accents to dry, you can see that looks the closest to a commercial badge.  SOMEWHERE in my room I have a HUGE pt of UTEE but no idea where at the moment.  I suspect that would be the 2nd best option.  But I am not unhappy with the 2 coats of plain clear embossing powder, a slight curve of the outer edge by running my thumbnail from centre to edge all around then a flat foam square/pop dot in the middle.  Just curving the flat piece still looks good.  Just the act of heat embossing curves it slightly.

6flairs

And even the purely flat version punched is not horrible. Here are the first ones I printed to show her:

flairsamples

So there you go.  I think the two files are useful on their own – the printed bases could easily be stamped on, for example, and the printed extras could be punched to be inked or spritzed and used on a card or layout.  I haven’t tried printing them onto glossy photo paper, but I suspect they would look nice, and no pfaffing about with embossing or the like.

 

12 thoughts on “Printable Flairs – with a UK slant

  1. Now that is an amazing set of instruction on printing flat badges.

  2. I didn’t know they were called that, you learn something new everyday. I really like the bonkers one it’s really English. You should of done some like G’day Mate, Hows it going too. Regardless they are great. Send me your addy and I will pop my spare ATC in the post for you. I don’t want one in return, all is good.

    Hugs Eliza
    elizabethanneharms@yahoo.com

  3. Wow – fantastic! What a lot of hard work (and perseverance with technology) you’ve put in there. Thank you so much for sharing. Hugs, Chris # 10

  4. You truly amaze me with not only your creativity but also your patience!! I might give something a go twice – but after that I am so frustrated I give up!! Wait! Your generosity with your crafts amazes me as much as your creativity & your patience!!

  5. Pingback: Printables flair badges – a sample | scrappystickyinkymess

  6. Maryanne, these are a-mazing! Thank you

  7. merci j adore vos badges

  8. Every time I click on the “pdf” to download it, my web page tells me there’s an error and closes on me. Would you be willing to send it to me via email??

  9. Very cute, cool…even if I am American. =)

  10. I love these. I am going back through all of my saved emails from you and downloading the PL type items. I haven’t started playing yet – just collecting supplies until I’m in my new studio. 😉 Thank you so much for all of your hard work and attention to detail. Creative Blessings! Kelly (WOYWW)

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

