scrappystickyinkymess

WOYWW 258 – a hot mess

28 Comments

Hugely messy today – the power was out for the day while they carried out some electrical work in the area and I got so involved in knitting and my ADL journal that I neglected to take a photo till very late in the day – and I did two frames of a panorama shot, hence the warped view of my desk. Ugh!

WOYWW258

There is a little fellow siting there, one of the Rainbow dolls for Margaret’s charity project, and the rest is just chaos.

You can take a peek back to see a little more of the Documented Life pages I did, I managed to get 5 or so more sorted, after I corrected a few date issues due to carelessness.  Happy with it so far, and I’ve managed a couple of the January challenges too. Yippee.

Since it’s all so ugly and boring I’ll just add a couple of better shots from what I’ve been working on:

  • A Project Life card holder made from a freebie wine carrier from the grocery store
  • My “front door” challenge bit from a Documented life
  •  Some printables I made using bits digitally snipped out of photos/scans of my art journal pages

One thing you can’t see amidst the chaos  is Glycerine – I saw some demo on one of the TV shopping channels while channel hopping, showing misting cardstock with glycerine and water to make Distress ink move more freely over the surface.  I am playing with it a bit and it seems to work well. I’ll be sure to report more on my findings.  I have an idea I want to try first…

Have a great WOYWW day – getting quite excited about the crop now….just a few weeks to go!

 

 

28 thoughts on “WOYWW 258 – a hot mess

  1. I’m trying to catch up on your latest posts, because I’ve been so busy, I haven’t been by to visit. I laughed at the front door, back door. Too cute. And I like those artist cards. Looks like gelli prints came into play.

    Sorry, no number yet, but Julia is still sleeping. Glad to see your power is back on at least.

  2. Those artist cards look so amazing with all the vibrant colours you have used hugs Nikki 6

  3. I think the cards look fab – I saw the post where you showed them, in my inbox, now can’t remember if I read the whole thing (oops) Nothing wrong with a messy desk (luckily!) Can’t wait to see you at the crop. Helen 7

  4. Hi
    It’s been a while I know, since I last managed to link up but I’m back now and just popping my head round the door to say hello!
    Loving the cards.
    Thanks for sharing your creative space and I hope you have a good week too.

    Neil #10

  5. That Glycerin technique sounds very interesting, love the artist cards. Is that your hand writing?
    Krisha #19

  6. Oh I can’t wait to hear more about the glycerin in the future!! Your cards are absolutely gorgeous!!

    Happy WOYWW!
    Amy E. #3
    Scrapthissavethat.com

  7. I like the warped view! Love the printables with your prints in the letters. Clever make over of the wine carrier for your Project Life stuff too. #28

  8. I saw the upcycled wine carrier on UKS, very clever. I like the idea of scanning your own art in to make PL cards. I’ve making my own too, but using stamp and inks. Looking forward to the glycerine experiments.

  9. I absolutely LOVE those cards in the last pic – the backgrounds are fantastic. Did you do those with the glycerine/water misting technique? I really like the way the background shows through the cut out words too… simple but effective!
    I’m looking forward to the Crop too – there are a few new faces coming this time, so it’ll be good mix of old friends and new 🙂
    Hugs, LLJ 22 xx

  10. How come you have no power and still manage a day full of exciting crafting. And how come you think your desk shots look boring, my word I don’t! How sweet the little knitty doll is, and how fab the PL card holder, I’ve often looked at those carriers and wondered about their potential. But that’s all I’ve done, obviously!
    The gycerine sounds like a genuinely good idea…I’ll let you do the leg work, of course…!

  11. Great shot of your desk and love how you have used scanned images of those papers. Now I am going to have to look up glycerine techniques!!
    Sandra @52

  12. Your desk looks really full and busy, but I bet you can find whatever you need. Your glycerine technique sounds so interesting. Looking forward to seeing that!
    Glenda #58

  13. What a good idea, to use the wine carrier, as they’re usually very strong. I like the idea of the glycerine and water spray, too. Your pages are lovely. Have a great week, Chris # 23

  14. Unexpected crafting conditions are the reason to have a diversity of crafting options (that’s my story and I’m sticking to it lol). This deskhopping is dangerous though, always something new to try. Glycerine and distress inks? And I may have to copy your bucket of craftyiness! Happy WOYWW! #66

  15. Hi, love your cards Mary Anne.
    The Glycerin is very useful for all kinds of things.
    Your desk looks very busy, just waiting for your return lol!
    Happy crafting, Angela x 50

  16. I love the panorama shot of your desk! It actually gives us more to see! And Iove your PL cards. I haven’t done anything with PL yet, but I know it’s so popular and easy! Happy WOYWW. Hugs #64

  17. Hi Mary Anne, You take the most amazing shots of your desk! I think I probably saw the same demo using glycerin to make ink go further but haven’t put it to the test yet. Have a great week, Elizabeth x #78

  18. I saw the glycerine technique too…was it Sheena Douglass? It was brilliant and has been added to my list of uses!

    Cheap techniques and ways of eeking out stash are my favourites!

    kyla #18

  19. What an interesting technique, must explore further! your desk looks hugely exciting, mess isn’t mess, it is exploration!

  20. Ok, those cards are amazing! What a great desk. I agree it’s exciting!

    Happy WOYWW!
    Tam #88

  21. Using glycerine in that way sounds a very interesting technique, must try it. Towing a caravan is perfectly normal to me as we have had caravans for over 38 years and as we were involved in Land Rover trialling, I quite often towed the caravan on my own, while my husband drove the trialler. It was just that I had never done any reversing at all, and although I have a motor mover fitted, I feel happier from having learned the right way to do it. Glad you liked my teasing post this week. xx Maggie #20

  22. I’m in love with those cards. I will have to give that a try with the inks too at some point. We all have those times when are deck don’t see the light of day, that’s good it means our minds have been working. Thanks for sharing.

    Mindy – The Determined Scrapper
    #100 WOYWW #258

  23. I don’t understand how you can have a power outage for the whole day and still get heaps of things done, what’s your secret, you must have a back up generator hidden in your room. You still amaze me and who cares about a messy desk, it looks more interesting with stuff on it.

    Happy WOYWW
    Hugs Eliza & Yoda 90

  24. now, I’ve heard of glycerin to soften old rubber but, that is a cool thing to see that you are playing with it on the paper and ink too. so, now I am really curious to find out what you have learned later 🙂 Stacy #98

  25. I’m not a wine drinker but I wonder if my grocery store would notice that I picked up one of those FREE carriers!!! tee hee. Very cool. Also, love the cards and enjoyed your latest post with the children’s art work. We definitely need to encourage kids to have fun and make inky, painty messes.

    Happy belated WOYWW
    Kay (35)

  26. Hi Mary Anne, love those cards, amazing. I admit its true you could never lose me in a crowd! Saw the glycerine post, that looks very interesting. I have a recipe, I think from SCS, for blender solution using it- 2 tsp glycerine, 4 tsp water and 1/4 tsp rubbing alcohol. Keep meaning to try it out. Have a great week, Hugs, Shaz #29 xx

  27. love the colours of the cards you have done – lots happening on your desk – happy WOYWW – Nicky #30

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

