scrappystickyinkymess

A Documented Life journal

Leave a comment

I thought it was about time I caught you up on this.  Progress is not as fast as I would like and I am slipping behind every day.  My thought was the best way to drop in to this so late in the year was to make the bare bones of all the pages up to the current dat.  It’s fun but time-consuming.  I came up with a few shortcuts, mostly (surprise, surprise!) by creating digital bits to print.  I would imagine that if I carry on doing it I would do more from scratch.  My plan is to begin doing it and create a month of pages just before the first of the month, so I can just get into the habit of updating it daily.

I already talked about my tabs.  I joined the FB group (must be driven, cause you KNOW I think Facebook is evil and not much will drive me there) and saw this post by Carole.  I loved the stripe-y border she used but couldn’t tell if it was cut from paper, stamped, doodled… My method of accomplishing it was to print out a sheet of stripes then slice it into thin strips.

stripes

2stripes

That way I can print as many as I like and don’t have to keep finding checkerboard or striped paper.

Then I did a background or two – at this point, in the interest of speed, I am looking to get them done – I’m playing around with a few techniques and this one grew out of my concern that the Inktense blocks are…intense.  To soften them I decided to scribble on the page, but when it came to blending them I used a damp baby wipe that had been dipped in a smidge of gesso.  I liked the effect. Much softer colour and maybe you can see I really used very little of the blocks in the scribbling.

inktensegesso

2inktensegesso

To get some pattern in there, but again, quite soft, I brushed some gesso onto one of the texture plates I made from the anaglypta wallpaper for using on the Gelli plate.  That gave me a nice enough print (although it probably doesn’t show up in the photo as well as it does IRL.

4inktensegesso

You can see that texture pad is caked with acrylic paint, but it didn’t transfer when printing with it.

So then I decided to try rubbing the side of the Inktense block onto it and misting it with water to activate the ink.

9inktensegesso

That gave me a much darker impression.  Def. will do THAT again – I have A LOT of these texture pads that I’ve made and lots more (a near endless supply) of options cause I can tear off a “sample” at all of the wallpaper departments of about 5 or 6 different stores i my area.  I only need a few inches, although these are more like A4 size cause I wanted them for the bigger Gelli plate.

I carried on adding the little date and day printouts (cut ‘n paste) and did one page using thin Washi Tape for the divides.

10inktensegesso

So far so good.  If I can do a month a day (unlikely) I’ll probably be ready to start properly in a week.  I did do the January prompt (front door) but as this is already long I’ll add that tomorrow, along with a better look at the elements that make my book different.

I am also reading Flash Boys (I adore Michael Lewis, back since Liar’s Poker) and have a little Rainbow Baby doll on the go for a fellow WOYWWers charity project, plus the crochet circles…. just too many things and all of them vying for my time.  {sigh}

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

