scrappystickyinkymess

SVGs of the other printables

4 Comments

One of my commenters asked about SVG from some of my other printables.  I’m adding these with a BIG warning and an explanation.

I converted the other two examples into SVGs and what I feared actually proved correct – for 3×4 cards, the very small font, and in particular the STYLE of font I used (one stencil and one very fat letters) have issues that may not be solvable.  Here are some examples so you can see what I mean:

cuttingsamples

 

This is actually a new one, not in the printable set.  Because the words were short and over 2 lines, I could make them a little bigger.  They cut the best, but my needs-to-be-replaced blade still left the edges a little ratty.

This one, well, you maybe can’t see it perfectly here, but the letters are almost unreadable to me.

2cuttingsamples

It SHOULD say Here & There!  Some of the very, very fine connectors (like the middle of the H) got totally lost. This one, with the very FAT letters, had the same problem:

3cuttingsamples

See the raggedy bits defining the N and the N and the E? Rubbish. Now, I think that picking a different font will solve the problem in some ways, but then that changes the whole look of the card.  Likewise, a single (bigger) word would work better too, but again, changes the design completely.  And sure, with a brand new crisply cutting blade, the perfect weight of cardstock and the perfect pressure and depth setting you could get a really cute card cut even with the original designs, but is it worth adding something that is sure to disappoint maybe 80% of the people who download it? I think not.

In the case of the stencil letters I trolled thru loads of stencil fonts, looking for a free one that wasn’t distressed/grungy, that had a wider gap dividing the letter bits, and would cut well, based on what I learned from my test cuts.  And I am not coming up with one.  Hence my dilemma.

I have a load of projects that I want to work on, all my WOYWW visits to do (yesterday, real life rather got in the way) and lots to do to prepare for the crop on Saturday, so I may just work on these over a few days and see what I can manage.  That might give me time to get a new blade LOL!

Sorry to disappoint, but I do try to have at least some quality control over things I am sharing as freebies.  I don’t believe just cause it’s free it can be bad and that’s OK.  I’d like to make sure that for the majority of people, even given variations in set up, my stuff is going to work to a good standard and these I am just not happy with yet.

Now a teaser – these I am REALLY happy with save one tiny thing. Here is what they look like cut:

2numercut

What I was unhappy with was how tight the U and the S of US cut, with barely any space between them, so prone to tearing. I need to alter what is known as the kerning (the space between letters) then cut them again to test.

I am just accepting that the font will have holes instead of some letters, and I’m OK with that. You can retain the centers of some of them, if you fancy sticking down the little shapes separately.

3numercut

Like so:

4numercut

I designed them the way I did so you are actually getting more than one item from one cutting session.  I can see you using the cards as they cut, backed with whatever you like, then using the NUMBERS on their own, either stuck to another card, and even using the letters on a different card.  If you cut two sets you can swap the small letters on the NUMBERS, filling the holes with the opposite colour, then mounting THAT onto patterned paper, for example, for a completely different look.

Anyway I have a ton to be getting on with so I’ll sort out that little change and then make up a few samples for you, then get the file up on DropBox, but possibly not till tomorrow.  Sorry to tempt you (if in fact you find them tempting!)  then delay the delivery but real life and all that….

 

 

4 thoughts on “SVGs of the other printables

  1. What software are you using to design the svgs? I’m a bit out of practice because my Cougar has been shelved for a while (house move, other priorities) but I have been using Inkscape (free, open source, for Win, Mac & Linux) and have had great success converting various fonts into stencil fonts. Here is one that I did: http://shoshiplatypus.blogspot.co.uk/2012/01/shebas-coming-of-age.html

    I love what you have done, especially those big numbers! They are really cool, especially being able to use the cut out piece as well as the background.

    Shoshi

    • Very pretty! I’m useless at making swirls 🙂 I use a Mac only program called Intaglio – it has the option of saving things as SVGs. It’s a bit quirky and the manual is pretty sketchy, but I like a lot about it. I think the real issue is the fact that on a 3 x 4 inch card the text, whatever font you use, is so tiny that any fine lines are a problem. But I’m the designer – I don’t HAVE to use a stencil font if I don’t want to. So I might look at other fonts and see hoe the design looks with those. Some f the ones I found might be OK, I just have to play around with them a bit more 🙂

      Thanks for the tip, ‘tho. It’s worth remembering for a time when I can really play with it!
      cheers

      MA

  2. I really like the black frames “wonderful moment” and “like”. I’m not exactly following how to do this. Do you print the document on paper? What size picture fits in the hole? Thanks!

    • You use the files with a cutting machine that cuts SVGs(I use a very old Cricut with SCAL but Silhouette/Cameo machines will work as well as others) – they aren’t really for printing. Just lay the cut piece over a photo and trim. Generally the frame is 3 x 4 inches, like for Project Life, so the opening is slightly smaller.

      HTH

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

