scrappystickyinkymess

AJ technique – a twofer

Leave a comment

Perplexed by that title?  Don’t be.  I’ll explain….

Sort of a Buy one, Get one free technique.  I was looking at my last page, at the bits of book paper I used as the base, and wondering about the waste when I trim off the overhang.  Silly, I know, but it came to me that I could intentionally leave MORE overhang, and use it for the next page.

It take a little thought – only in the sense that you need to plan if for a page that has nothing already on the flip side.  what I did was prep a LEFT hand page that was blank on the back and not intended to be part of a two page spread, with Gesso. My thoughts are that with the book paper base on the reverse, I don’t really need to cover BOTH sides with book paper. Nor did I need to coat both sides with Gesso…

AJtwofer

Once that was totally dry I flipped back to the reverse and started layering on the book paper.

3AJtwofer

I thought I would leave the white border on the book pages and make sure THAT was the overhang bit, cause I had an idea for THAT too – but I’ll save that for another day…

Once the reverse of the Gessoed page was covered and dry…

4AJtwofer

all I did was flip to the reverse and folded the overhang onto the page.

5AJtwofer

6AJtwofer

Rather than stick those flaps down around the edges, I thought it might work better if I complete THAT page and THEN stick them down.  That leaves me the option, if I stop here, of sticking them, and adding gesso over them to incorporate them into the background of the page OR of completing the page then sticking them for a stronger “border” statement, IYKWIM.

Thinking I might find the loose flappy bits annoying I took the extra step to tape them down with artists tape, for easy removal

7AJtwofer

and leaving me with a flat page to work on while completing the reverse page.

8AJtwofer

I suppose a third option might be to work on the page with the flaps as applied, decorating the whole thing, flaps and all, so you wind up with a decorated border when you eventually DO flip them to the reverse, but then you have to consider if they will “match” the reverse page too, or plan for that page at the same time.  Frankly that takes too much forward thought for a Monday morning…

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

