scrappystickyinkymess

Art Journal experiment

7 Comments

{sigh}  DS is rolling back to Uni this morning, with a full belly, a backpack full of clean and repaired clothes, and his ears surely ringing from the Ugly Duckling concert last night.  He missed a perfect chance to wear his gift from Aunt and Uncle – we each got one, with a request for a Duck family portrait from Auntie but with time short and DD feeling not very well, we had to give it a miss this time.  Maybe on his next visit home.

duck

I am sad he had to go, but still carrying the warm glow of a lovely and stress-free visit.  So I waved him off and decided to have a play.  Usual medium and torn book paper start, followed by a scrape of Gesso.

1AJsoftwater

I wanted to use something I had that I haven;t made much use of – my  Neocolor watercolour crayons. I’ve used them so little I was a bit stumped how to start.  So I just marked around the rough squares of book paper

3AJsoftwater

and blended with a slightly moist brush tip.

4AJsoftwater

Liked it, and for another sort of page maybe would have stopped at the soft, barely-there colour.  But instead I went over some of the squares again, picking out colours, adding a few more shades

5AJsoftwater

and blended again. Now that’s more what I was looking for.

6AJsoftwater

I added a bit of modelling paste, some spray inks, a bit of stamping…

7AJsoftwater

but now have to put it aside to dry fully before I move on with it. I have an inkling of where I want to take it, but perhaps letting it brew a bit will clarify my thoughts. I have one thing in mind I need to find, and MAY need to install a new router if it arrives, but with luck I’ll finish it up today.  If not, it may still be on my WOYWW desk…

7 thoughts on “Art Journal experiment

  1. Love it….I have these crayons too and hardly every use them…will be in the studio later and having a play 🙂
    Dawn

  2. Gorgeous…lovethe intensity of the colour and subtle hints of the stamping and the paste.

  3. I’ve heard of those crayons, but never seen them. You managed to pick the technique up fairly quickly, I think. What fun this page will be when finished.

  4. LOVE, can’t say more than that!

  5. Ooooh – I have these too and can’t remember the last time I used them…..guess what I might be doing at the weekend. Love the piece so far – beautiful colours…
    Happy (early) WOYWW
    Caz #12

  6. This looks great. Can’t wait to see the end result. Also love the duck whistle!

  7. Loved this technique. I bookmarked it so when I give it a go, I can link back to you. Lovely! Creative Blessings! Kelly

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

