scrappystickyinkymess

A new project – mixed media scrapbook

4 Comments

So I have been hunting for US-style manilla folders for YEARS.  The only ones I’ve found are at Amazon and the shipping is from the USA (about £60!) Recently we totally reorganized out home filing and I found a ton of old, tatty at the edges but mostly OK manilla folders mixed in with the hanging folders.  I collected ALL of them up – I am quite happy to us the UK version to replace them, even if I have to trim each one to make them fit the US file cabinet.

Now I finally have them I can play with an idea I had ages ago. Thinking about the things I love, and at the moment that is mixed-media, scrapbooking (now and always!), printables and book-binding, I sort of wanted to combine them all in one project. Here is what I plan to do:

I am starting with a file folder.  Each one will get one side covered with random papers, then gessoed to prep the surface.  This will make the base more able to take all I will add to it.

FFAj

 

I am using a combination of printed sheets and bits from my stash

2FFAj

 

and at least one photo

3FFAj

 

All the photos are ones I’ve done a proper scrapbooking layout for already, so I am not bothered about the longevity of the work or the fact there will be no page protectors.

The base gets the full mixed media treatment, with paint, inks, texture, etc.

4FFAj

 

Andin the end will look more like an AJ page than a traditional layout

5FFAj

My plan is to create a “scrapbook” by using the back-to-back binding method to join them all.  I’ll then perhaps work out some sort of cover and sewn binding decoration for that. I’m planing on keeping the embellishments mostly flat (well -ish anyway) and some might be 1/2 the folder and some will cover the whole  surface (this is a 1/2 one.)

It’s just a bit of fun for me, slightly experimental but I don’t mind that at all.  And if it ends up as a disaster (which I think I will know within the first 4 to 6 surfaces) well then, so be it.  But more often than not it’s about the process for me, not always the end result.  I’m willing to spend the time just to see if it will work.

For a start, unlike my traditional scrapbooking style, for this project I feel I MAY need to rein in the grunge…..

{wink}

4 thoughts on “A new project – mixed media scrapbook

  1. You create the best backgrounds! Date: Mon, 10 Mar 2014 13:51:27 +0000 To: dilnat2010@hotmail.com

  2. Fabulous as is all your work. The printed sheets are bougth?

    • No, not at all. The Graphics Fairy is a great resource for free images. I’ve often been able to identify things that turn up as commercial scrapbooking things from there – or at least very very closely similar ones. I just dragged the image into my program and printed them on cream cardstock. and cut them out. The images I used came from either the LABELS, TYPOGRAPHY, NUMBERS or ADVERTISING categories. HTH

      Mary Anne

  3. thanks for visiting me! i enjoyed my visit and just love all the backgrounds and techniques you show!
    hugs,
    peggy aplSEEDS

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

