scrappystickyinkymess

Red and Black modelling paste

3 Comments

Sometimes, I just want a fast answer.  A question occurs to me and I just have to know.

I used the basic recipe of 1 part paint, 1 part talc, and 1/2 part fabric glue.  And guess what?  Even with red and black paint, the two I expected to have to most trouble with (ending up with pink and grey once I mixed in the white glue and the white talc) turned out great.

RandB

 

And since I was experimenting anyway, I decided to try using the stencil I have that has the tiniest holes imaginable in it, to see how well the homemade version performs.  Would it give me well-defined dimension or would it all create a blob of colour when it squidged under the stencil?? I think this shows that it works perfectly – those holes are no bigger than the head of a pin and they are perfectly formed.

With red:

2RandB

 

with black:

3RandB

 

Much as I want an immediate answer, only time will tell me if this modelling paste can be stored.  Ideally I think some sort of squeeze-y bottle would be my preferred option, but I’d have to mix up a lot of it, or find a tiny bottle.  These little stackable craft storage pods I have in abundance so I just popped the excess into them – I’ll keep checking and report back to say how long they stay moist enough to use or if they dry out too quickly to store them.  Even so, it only takes a moment to mix one up so I don’t see the problem with mixing a perfect match to your project one the fly…..

4RandB

3 thoughts on “Red and Black modelling paste

  1. You beat me to it! I was all set up today to experiment but (hanging her head in shame)…fell asleep!! Looking at yours, I think I need to add a little more talc but I will try it and see.
    Mine made with cheap Wilkonson craft glue has a little flexibility in it too. I can nearly bend it in half before it cracks so I think I will try it again with the same glue.

    Once again, you inspire my dear!
    kyla

    • Never underestimate the need for sleep! And the original recipe calls for plain ole’ craft glue – I only used fabric glue cause that’s what I had a lot of. I bought it on sale and felt it didn’t work well for fabric in the way I hoped so it’s just gathering dust 🙂 I think for the talc addition it’s more of a “feel”. If it’s craft paint, more liquid and pourable, more talc is needed. If it’s heavy bodied paint from a a rube, less. It need to be thick enough to hold it’s shape in peaks or you end up with something that is a bit like the experiment where I used the acrylic ink. Too soft and it squidges under the stencil, leaving a less than perfect area. If you’ve ever used commercial modelling paste, you will have a sense of the consistency you need 🙂

      I’l curious to try it with quite a large stencil, one with very big open areas – I think applying it with a large squeegee might work, a bit like screen printing IYKWIM. But that is an experiment for another day….unless you beat me to it LOL!

      MA

  2. Thanks for this – I can see me having a bit of fun with my newest stencil – I’d rather do texture than misting any day!

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

