scrappystickyinkymess

Two interesting Gelli experiments

4 Comments

Another quickie from me.  Busy day!

I have two things I wanted to play with.  The first is cheap plastic stencils.  I like them but I never like the large areas of paint they remove from the Gelli plate.  it’s too regular and blocky.  I have a stash of these that were gifted to me from someone who used them in some past business capacity.  So as I have at least three or four that are identical, it wasn’t a struggle to decide to cut one up.

cutstencil

Due to how tight the letters are, with some of the descenders crossing the cut line, some of the edges aren’t a straight line, but I don’t mind that.  cut into strips it’s easy to arrange them in any way you like.

2cutstencilRemember if you are pulling a print that you need to reverse them so the letters appear to read the right way! and just to be clear I am NOT pulling the print thru the stencil here.  I’m laying it on, pressing lightly, then removing the stencil.  That is what gives this effect.  The stencil is really too thick and the area of the letters too thin/small to get a super effective pull THRU it.

3cutstencil

I like that a LOT better than the large block.  Do you?

OK, so the other thing is sort of a jump from what has turned out to be my most popular post ever, the Glitter Gel technique.  Bizarre, really, as for me it was a total throw-away post.  Interesting but not something I expected to garner  over 30,000 hits since I posted it!

glittergel

Basically I rolled paint on to the plate, then laid on a stencil.  I pulled the paint off from the openings for another print, then rolled on the glitter gel.

3glittergel

I did pull a print on plain paper but the photo isn’t good enough to really show how pretty it looks.  For the next one I pulled it off with packing tape – that had the added benefit of cleaning the plate of the glitter nicely as well!

4glittergel

And you can see the sparkle a bit better thru the lens

5glittergel

The packing tape sticks to paper OK, as I guess the gel has enough bare spaces in it to allow the tape to stick.

There is clearly more to play with here but overall I’m pretty pleased with the experiments so far.  Maybe if I’m lucky there will be time to play some more tomorrow.  Til then there is enough info for you to have a go.  If you do, share your experiments and results.  I’d be very interested!

4 thoughts on “Two interesting Gelli experiments

  1. Is it my imagination, or are those stencils made of thick plastic. Like molded plastic, even. I ask because I have some like that, but would never have thought to use them on my gelli, which is still in its box, by the way. I DO like your two experiments, though.

    • Yep. They ARE quite thick, basically the ones you get for sign lettering. What I like about them is the effect of just laying them down on the plate and then removing them. It takes away the paint from the surround of the letters, but leaves the paint strong where the opening are. You can sort of see that in the print. It might be misleading in that you might look at it and think the print was pulled THRU the stencil, like you can do with the thinner ones. Not so! It’s “lay down then remove the pull the print”

      🙂

      HTH

      MA

  2. I love my letters stencil on the gelli plate, such a cool look. Wonderful idea with the glitter gel!

  3. Pingback: Monday Links to Tangles, Tutorials and Giveaways #zentangle #Giveaways #Lifeimitatesdoodles | lifeimitatesdoodles

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

