scrappystickyinkymess

Still playing with inks – AJ start

1 Comment

I am a little frustrated.  I was able to do what I wanted to do a couple of weeks ago but am having trouble recreating my experiment.  It was mixing inks (and as it was all I had at the time, I was using Colorwash spray) with glaze medium and loading it into a bottle to create a waterproof mist.  I swear it worked, but then I laid my sample down on top of some wet paint and ruined it.  I threw it in the bin because I didn’t expect I would struggle to make another.  Well, I am.  I want to get some liquid medium and see if that improves my success rate.

But anyway, I also just wondered if I could mix the inks with the glaze and get something more waterproof.  Not perfect but much better as only a hint of colour leeches out when I brush over it with the acrylic medium, rather than getting great smears all across the page. But let me begin at the beginning…

I used that fun-foam stuck to pipe insulation tube material on a paint roller handle to roll on some grey paint

AJsecrets

 

I stuck a few scraps of papers in a couple of areas. Then I mixed up some of the Dylusions ink (some pink and some yellow) with some glaze medium and brushed that over, a bit splotchy. It is nicely sheer and slightly glossy.

3AJsecrets

 

Not sure you can properly see how nifty this looks.  Then I smeared some acrylic paint on a bit of deli paper and pressed that to the surface – I like the contrast of sheer and matte.

5AJsecrets

 

6AJsecrets

 

Maybe more obvious here?

7AJsecrets

 

The ink mixed with the glaze medium over the white gessoed background is really bright.

Let’s see.. then, as I had some of the yellow with glaze left I forced that thru a stencil.

9AJsecrets

 

When it dried it was interesting as it was translucent and showed the colour behind at least a bit and can you see the text thru it?

10AJsecrets

 

And as I had some of the pink left as well I mixed that with some white PAINT and added another layer of opaque colour. Just scraped it on with a credit card.

11AJsecrets

 

There is some stamping with a coffee jar lid that has an odd shape, you can just see that above, I think.

So then I went back to the stamp pad I made a couple of days ago with the white acrylic ink – the lid was on and when I opened it it still stamped fine.  But then I let the stamp touch some pink on my palette and that contaminated it, so there’s my excuse to try washing it out!

12AJsecrets

 

13AJsecrets

 

I think you can just about see the numbers there in the middle.  I also added some letters with a stencil and a graphite pencil

14AJsecrets

 

I’ll finish it up and share it tomorrow when I can get a decent photo of it.  I have to say I am really liking the layers and the colours! We’ll see if I still love it in the morning…..

Cars in the shop, to finish up  the problem from last week, and DD is back in school. Pick up in the AM, I hope, then the rest of the day to finish up the page – and do laundry and shop and clean.  My life is just SO full of fun, isn’t it?

One thought on “Still playing with inks – AJ start

  1. wow! love your page – great colours and yes, so much texture and interest…bet it looks a ton better in the flesh, as it were!

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

