scrappystickyinkymess

WOYWW243 – more experiments

11 Comments

Happy experimental WOYWW.  My desk is in a bit of a state but only because I am still playing about with the spray inks. You might find it handy to look back to yesterday’s post so this one makes more sense.

woyww243

 

I’ll explain my results via this gallery of shots. Hover over them to reveal the text for each image.

It’s an interesting experiment but gives rise to the question  is it worth it?  You can just use archival ink and that will be waterproof.  And while I haven’t looked, there must be a decent white waterproof stamp pad out there.  But I really do think the shimmery colour with the addition of the Pearl-ex is so pretty.  I can see that looking quite nice on a card or a layout.  And certainly the acrylic ink stamped images from yesterday have an interesting matte finish, and a little texture to them – And mixing in the white ink and glaze medium give some pretty pastels, slightly opaque, that you don’t get with a stamp pad.  I do like the idea that I can use stuff I have even if it is a little more effort, rather than buying more stuff. Plus, I like the I wonder if I can….? aspect. I do get that not everyone is like that LOL! 

I finally took delivery of something I’ve been waiting for that I hope is going to be fab but that will have to wait for some more experimentation, so check back – THAT is what is on my W today, really. I do hope it works…..but you know me – even if it doesn’t work, even if it is a spectacular FAIL, I’ll still share it.  

11 thoughts on “WOYWW243 – more experiments

  1. I have a white ink pad, but it is pigment ink. I’ve never seen a white ink pad that wasn’t. I did appreciate the time you took on all the experiments from yesterday and today. I was surprised how well some of the ink held up, while the other really fell down on the job.

    No number yet, but I’m sure you’ll find me right next to Bleubeard (grin).

  2. I love every one of your posts! This was great. I love experimentation. I don’t do as much as I like so I follow you religiously.

  3. Looks like you’re having fun. I do love your inky desks. Take care. Zo xx 64

  4. Well if there is a decent white waterproof pad out there, I’d like to know about it. reloading the opaque Stazon is gunky and horrid and it’s not quite as white as I want it, so am going to be using your acrylic technique for sure. Meanwhile,therest is great, but you alredy know I won’t be going there! But huh, good old pearl ex huh, still coming back to our original and stash, over and again!

  5. If you are a member at SplitCoastStampers, they had a thread going a while back comparing white stamping pads. Interesting discussion. Might give some more good insights. Thank you for sharing your experiment and results!

  6. Mary Ann …. Love that you want to do all this! Your desk looks busy as you are!
    Jackie 33

  7. You definitely have some interesting things going on! Happy WOYWW!
    Carol N #81

  8. I always learn so much when I stop by here!! Loving your experiments. Helen 9 (stash warning… just sayin’)

  9. Stamping can be a challenge, but challenges are always worth the effort, even when the results aren’t what we want or expect. Have fun experimenting!

  10. Thanks for all your inspiration and the road testing of different items, it always surprises me with how much you can cram into one post. Thanks again, I really do enjoy visiting you.

    Hugs Eliza & Yoda 15

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

