scrappystickyinkymess

Circular Endless card (Flexagon)

6 Comments

Well, sadly, DS is off back to Uni tomorrow.  But he has hijacked my time to watch a favourite Anime series called Steins;Gate.  It’s a bit odd (time travel, sending texts back in time, alternate world lines, you know….)  but absorbing, once you get past the first couple of episodes.  A number of things all played a part in this little experiment and you know me – I like to credit people who inspires me. Let’s begin with Giving Hands Creative.  I had a hankering to make an endless card but wanted to make a round one – me?  I love circles.  I had the idea to do it with Gelli Prints, cause it’s been a while since I had a proper printing session, and the round plate is on my mind, so I thought I would have a little Google to see what I could find.  That link popped up.  That took me to Kiala’s Book-in-a-day series on You Tube. I took the time to compile them all into a playlist so they are all in one place and in order – there are at least 3 or 4 of them I am dying to try!

Anyway I watched the video in the wee small hours and then decided to have a go at it first with some images from the anime. It isn’t a total success, given the placement of the printed images but I think I’ve worked out how to do it better.  Having made an imperfect one, I can now more easily see how things need t be placed in order for them to appear as I want them to in the final card, as it “flips.” If you have never seen an Endless Card, this will help. That is only one of many so Google yourself if that one doesn’t suit you!

Start by cutting two identically sized circles.  Ignore the printing on mine for the moment – if you want to make an actual card you can just make the basic structure then add the embellishments, perfectly placed.

endlesscircle

 

I had already (stupidly) printed the circles and the printer paper circles I am using here were to practice the CONSTRUCTION, rather than the placement. I really should have done this step first then printed to fit.  What do I say? I make the mistakes so you don’t have to! LOL.

Fold the circles in half and be as precise as you can – both directions.  Use the first fold to line up the cross fold. Just match the top and the bottom on the first fold line to bisect the circle perfectly.

2endlesscircle

Now, Kiala measures to divide her half-circles into 4ths.  I decided to use this scrap circle as a template and avoid the measuring totally.  Folding in the two sides to met in the middle will give you 1/4th on each side and 2/4ths in the middle – exactly what you want.

 

 

3endlesscircle

See? The same basic idea will let the math-challenged use any size circle, even odd measurements.

4endlesscircle

 

I drew the pencil lines to mark and then cut this template along the centre line.  Laying it over the printed circles I both cut them along the centre and scored them along the 1/4th marks.

My circles need to be one cut widthwise, one lengthwise, because I was using printed images.  For the basic plain card base you can do them the same.

5endlesscircle

 

And scored:

6endlesscircle

 

Taking another tip from Kiala, I added a tiny bit of tape int the middle just to hold the circle halves together. I got a bit turned around, and laid them out with all the folds in the same way – up.  They should be stuck with one circle mountain folds up, the other, valley folds up. Think of it as back-to-back if it helps.  Having said that it isn’t hard to just crease them back even after the card is done.  That’s what I did.

7endlesscircle

 

The critical thing here is to line things up as carefully as you can. I found my gridded mat helped with that. If you look at it, you will see the folds delineate a small triangle on the bottom circle.

8endlesscircle

 

Apply your glue in  just that small area.  I used wet glue but I suspect ATG tape might work as well.  Wet glue just seemed like it would hold up better as you flip the card. Stick the two circles together in the glued areas, LET IT DRY if you are using wet adhesive, then remove the bits of tape and start flipping! This is nowhere near as instructive as actual motion video, but you get the idea.  Let’s call this the front:

flipOpening at the cur across the middle so the top half and bottom half split and flip to the back:

3flip

 

Flipping the middle arched sections to the back:

4flip

 

Flipping the side half-circles to the back:

2flip

 

and finally splitting the centre two bits out and back will bring you to the front once again – I won’t show it a second time!

Now, depending on how you begin, you will see different areas of the card with different orientations.  I may still try to work out THIS particular card for DS (just as a bit of fun) and if so, I’ll try to give some pointers.  But I also now hanker after making one from a 12″ circle and making in more of a scrapbook-y thing, with photos so I may just jump to that, using this flawed version to place things properly.  And I still think it would be fab with Gelli prints, so there is still THAT to try as well.  I also wonder if there is a way to work it out so the basic beginning shape is a heart (hey, Valentines day isn’t THAT far away…) then flexes even if the hearts don’t perfectly match up.  So I have a lot of ideas to fiddle with in the next few days, I think.

Do check out Giving Hands Creative too.  Like I said this is just one of many interesting books she did.  I admire her committment to a book in a day, and a book a week for a year.  Yu may find something that makes you rush to your desk, you never know….

 

6 thoughts on “Circular Endless card (Flexagon)

  1. Thank you Mary Anne for another great post. The link is so helpful too. Thanks again 🙂
    Will look forward to more experiments with this. It does look quite complicated at first glance!!!

  2. I love making endless or never ending folding cards, and love you idea of a circular one.l You must be delighted with the result. Thanks for sharing your great step by step too.

  3. I’ve never tried a circular one, but have made several hexaflexagons and flexagons. Here’s a cartoon version that I found and saved that you might want to play with:

    cartoon version single card. At 32 seconds, she flips it over, so you see the secret to it

    cartoon version – it’s the size of an atc 2 ½ x 3 ½” with an x cut in the middle – no directions. This video displays several of them.

    • Cool! Just packed DS off to the train and forward back to Uni. I re-did this card much better, and am off to post the shots I snatched in the dark this AM before he packed it away then I’ll watch them both. They seem just my thing LOL!
      thanks for the share, and for showing me that videos can get embedded in a commnent….Who knew? 🙂

      MA

  4. Pingback: Flexagon layout | scrappystickyinkymess

  5. this is neat. thanks ! it helped a lot for my project. 😀

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

