scrappystickyinkymess

Just some more Gelli sealing samples

11 Comments

I did a little YouTube slideshow thingie with a few more samples of sealing ink jet prints with the Gelli Plate and acrylic medium.  It’s such a good way to bring printed stuff to mixed media art – or at least I think it is.

I find that a quick blast of the heat gun – or waiting till the ink jet prints are very very dry – helps a bit too.  I think this will depend on what printer you have and the inks it uses.  I can’t test anything other than mine, which is a Canon with compatible inks, so I would ALWAYS advise you to test it first, as I did, with throwaway pieces, to make darn SURE than they aren’t going to smear.  To be fair, over a busy background a little smearing isn’t going to matter a lot, but on white or light backgrounds you could notice it more.

Not sure how well this will show, but this is an image over just plain old white card.  There was virtually no smear at all.

sealedsamplesThis is another – here is the beginning image, just printed and sealed so you can see the ink jet ink outlines looking pretty pristine:

5sealedsamples

Here it is coloured with Pitt brush pens and affixed to the random Gelli print background with acrylic medium – I did try a print on Deli paper, which I do NOT deem a success, as the ink did smear and sealing it kept the Deli paper from “disappearing” into the background.  It’s a bit better on the lighter area than the darker but not consistent enough for me to endorse it.

3sealedsamples

Here is just an image left white – again you see no smearing with the medium brushed under and over:

4sealedsamples

And finally, another image, also with Pitt Pens brushed on then smudged over the print. This one is cut out.

2sealedsamples

The YT thing doesn’t really have a lot more info in it, except this bit: what is important is that the plate be very clean when you brayer on the medium.  Any residual paint is going to get picked up in the medium.  Look at this – this plate was well cleaned with hand sanitizer. I wiped over it with a baby wipe at the end – it looks clean doesn’t it?

oilclean

Not one bit of colour on that wipe.  BUT if you add a few drops of Baby Oil and massage that into the plate, guess what?

2oilclean

3oilclean

Yep.  ALL THAT COLOUR pulled off the plate with a clean baby wipe.  Once you massage i the oil and wipe it away a wipe of the plate reveals it is TRULY clean.

4oilclean

Now, I am sure I recall something on the Gelli Arts site saying you can oil the plate with mineral oil.  But I also know that I have been using Baby Oil for months with no problems.  And in fact, as I have mentioned in the past, oiling it actually improves the pulling of prints – they sometimes seem to stick harder to the plate and a quick oil makes them glide off.  No issue with colour change or oily residue that I can see so long as you massage it in well.  But if you doubt it, don’t do it.  I’m happy to risk my plate having some problem down the line but not willing to say unequivocally This is OK to do and risk yours.

I’ll embed the video just in case you land here without having seen any other posts so you don’t have to hunt for it, but you wont miss much if you don’t bother to watch it!

11 thoughts on “Just some more Gelli sealing samples

  1. Brilliant! This is such a brilliant way to use the Gelli Plate! So glad you shared this with the party!

  2. I love your posts…you have such good and interesting information – I think you must be part scientist! You should be safe with the baby oil…it only contains two ingredients: mineral oil and fragrance. I had looked it up when I experimented with making my own gelli plate (only somewhat successfully). Thank you so much for sharing your experiments and processes with us. I look forward to seeing your new projects!

    • DOH! It never even occurred to me to actually read the label 🙂 Having said that mine says paraffnum liquidum, isoprophopl palmiate and parfum! But I suspect it’s fine, I’d just like a confirmation from the manufacturers to be 100% sure. Thanks for the illuminating comment.

      MA

  3. Thanks for the video and explaining things so well. I do have a couple of questions? Do you need to clean up the Gelli plate immediately after you seal your printed pieces, or can you add more matt medium and carry on sealing? Also what do you do as general clean up after the matt medium? Is it just baby wipes, hand sanitiser, baby oil or whatever? Youtube wouldn’t let me leave a comment on you video for some reason!?!

    • I was able to roll more matte medium onto the plate, just from what was left on the brayer, and seal more, not problem. You really just don’t want it to dry on the plate as it’s a pain to clean it off 🙂 but baby wipes clears it when it’s wet, hand sanitizer when it’s dry – but you have to work at it 🙂 You can oil it when yo are done and that won’t clean it, per se, but will make sure future pulls come off smoothly. I oil it after any long session, both to pull out any residual colour and to “condition” it I guess is the best word. I just find future pulls are better, somehow, after it’s been oiled.

      HTH and no idea why YT wouldn’t let you comment! Unless you tried to add a link I know of no reason that should happen – or maybe not logged in?

      Cheers!

      MA

      • Thanks for the reply 🙂 I will have to give this a go and see how I manage. Maybe you are right and I wasn’t signed in somehow to Yt? Thanks anyway…………

  4. Very nice! I love those pictures you used! That steampunk spider is da bomb! Thanks for sharing!

  5. I was just going to say, most baby oils are made of mineral oil, so they should work just fine. I just googled it and Paraffinum liquidum is mineral oil. When I had to start going to the dermatologist for psoriasis of the hands and feet, they use mineral oil all the time. When I said I had heard it was bad for your skin, they said it was a myth, so who knows.

  6. Great post Maryanne.. and feel really sorry for son on WOYWW post… now really must used jelly pad more .. why dont I? time poor but some would say poorly organised 😀 Shaz in Oz.x

  7. Your gelli print picture + your post is really great. Thank you.

  8. Found your idea through Carolyn Dube. This is genius. Thank you for sharing. I’ve been trying to find a way to seal watercolors and inks without smearing or using sprays.

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

