scrappystickyinkymess

Mixed media canvas for DS

7 Comments

and not a Gelli print in sight for a change.  I am pleased with how this turned out.  The idea was to document DS’s obsessions.  They come and go but there are a few that seem to carry on – sushi, cards and magic tricks, and League of Legends (a big online game) – so those were the main elements to incorporate.

The cards, as you may have seen, form the base of the piece, on top of the canvas.

canvasbase

Only barest hints of them show thru

5gravescanvas

The sushi is represented by some napkins, a gift from DH on one of his trips to Japan:

7gravescanvas

 

and again, only a few glimpses survive

6gravescanvas

 

If I would have had a stash of metal gears I might have used them but I didn’t so used tarted up card ones – some rust and Distress embossing powder gave them texture, and gold leafing pen provided some shimmer.  The single diamond gem is because he’s achieved a goal – Diamond status in the game (apparently something like the top .2% of players from what I can find but I’m sure he’ll correct me if it’s wrong )

4gravescanvas

 

There is some black modelling paste, squidged thru a screen, with metal leaf over it in a few places and a bit of stamping.

2gravescanvas

When DS is playing his game, he often streams the feed on Twitch (like YouTube for gamers) and I drop in every so often to see if he’s broadcasting.  If so I can watch the live gameplay and listen to him chatting with his team.  Always interesting.  Sometimes we’ll have a Skype chat running at the same time so I can make the odd comment.  After watching perhaps too many hours of games I have my favourite “champions” he plays.  That brings me to the focal point – a desktop wallpaper graphic I found at a LoL site and printed.

3gravescanvas

Most of the graphic are very colourful but this B&W one appealed to DS a lot.  I considered and discarded a number of methods to get a print onto the canvas but while hunting up a possible solution (tee-shirt transfer on fabric) I found this ancient pack of specialty paper:

8gravescanvas

DS saw it on my desk and his first comment was “Jeez.  How old is that? Look at that FONT!” The apple does not fall far from the tree….

Anyway, it’s a bit of a faff, as you have to print the graphic on special film, stick a sheet over it, peel off the backing and stick THAT to cardstock, burnish it for a while, then carefully peel away the film, leaving you with the ink-jet print now waterproof and with a sort of canvas-like texture. I stuck THAT to a piece of board and the board to an embossed scrap of metal.

Here is an OK overall shot – in a lot of ways the covering of the old obsessions, with the current one taking pride of place, makes symbolic sense:

gravescanvas

DS has seen it and pronounced it “good”

So that may end up completing my foray into mixed media – unless you are so talented that you can sell your work, or such a brilliant teacher you can do classes or workshops, or you have a large family that loves getting your art as a gift, or you have seriously large and very bare walls, there really are only so many pieces like this you can make before you end up with a storage problem.  I love doing it but I have to be a bit sensible about it.  As I say that I am looking into the wall behind my monitors and can see a very empty corner that could easily take maybe four canvases so…..

{wink}

7 thoughts on “Mixed media canvas for DS

  1. Very cool! Love how you’ve incorporated his favourite things onto the canvas.

  2. MA,

    Beautiful work! I love every part of it!

  3. Awesome, great how everything came together. The best part, your son likes it, nothing tops that to a mother.

  4. Oh Maryanne – such gorgeousness! Please know that even though I rarely comment, each and every one of your blog posts that greet me in my inbox is met with giddy anticipation and delicious devouring. And I am never ever disappointed. Happy New Year – may 2014 give you more blank walls and many artful adventures! xoxo

  5. Mary Anne – you make me smile and giggle out loud – you are so creative and energetic and your family wins your favors and a bare wall or two – thanks for sharing – like Aimeslee I don’t often comment but always enjoy your posts

  6. Love how this turned out. I love working on canvas but like you, have minimal wall space. I have discovered I can do the same type of mixed media art on art journal covers. Personalize the covers to suit someone as a gift or for yourself. Creative Blessings!

  7. The canvas turned out beautifully!! I have been sharing this post because I think it is so awesome and I am very proud of my talented big sis! Love ya!

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

