scrappystickyinkymess

The hat

3 Comments

Just wrapping up the gifts, here is the completed hat,

4thehat

and as modelled by DD, off to skating this AM:

thehat

From the side you can see the “slouchy” effect a bit better

2thehat

I posted previously but here is the little video that explains the better way to do the rosebuds, the way that was a bit like how I started it but after I saw it I ripped back and changed to THIS method. And I really like the closure at the top:

3thehat

 

using this method, called Seam it Up. It’s been SO LONG since I touched a crochet hook, and I enjoyed making it so who knows if it won’t kick off a whole new obsession?

 

3 thoughts on “The hat

  1. It looks really cool Mary Anne, I love the slouchiness and the little rosebuds are a perfect finishing touch – slouchy but still pretty! May try a similar idea myself with some of the rainbow of colours I stashed away after crocheting 65 flowers for wedding favours …. you’ve got the old cogs turning now … Happy New Year to you and your family :o)xxx

  2. Looks great! I have such a hard time getting slouchy hats to stay on my head 😦

  3. There’s nothing you can’t do! I love the crochet, simple stuff but it enables me to sit in the same room as himself at night and still feel productive! Such a great series of posts about your handmade gifts.

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

