scrappystickyinkymess

The big reveal – 85% done!

10 Comments

Some quick shots.  OK, a lot of shots…. I “zoned” the areas in hopes of being able to still find things.  So, My Gelli Plate stuff – in the 15% still to do, some better organization needed:

2013cleanup

 

Sorry it’s still a bit dark in my office but I have GOT to spend the morning on WOYWW comments so I figured I’d better snap it now so I could post and get to that! I thought I would have to move the ribbons, as the bookshelf in on top of another piece of an old desk (see the curve of it?) to extend the width of the desk and make it stable, and that means the door, when open, is right against the side of the bookshelf.  BUT if I shifted all the hanging strips (free from the grocery store!) that hold all the ribbon baggies hung from binder clips to the right, the door opens fully just fine. RESULT!

Next is STAMPING STUFF.

22013cleanup

 

There is still a little work to be done here – nothing major, just re-filing stamps I pulled out to use.  All the books and mags are OUTSIDE of my office, except Craft Stamper, there on the bottom shelf.

Next, scrapbooking papers and embellishments

32013cleanup

 

Papers and cardstock at the top, in that sideways bookshelf, letter stickers, embellie boxes (still needs re-organization) and some other bits and bobs.

Then, die-cutting stuff

42013cleanupTotally happy with that!

And all my boxes of tiny bits and things like glitter, Stickles, AIs, etc.  It works and is housed in otherwise unusable space (behind the other door) so no reason to change it.

52013cleanup

 

The bottom is things like coin envelopes, cards made and card blanks.  Needs a tidy up and I think best with an additional shelf, if I can find one!

My computer/printer station – shifted to the left to clear more actual working desk space….

62013cleanup

 

and then on my desk: The little pile of stuff for the last few Advent Tags for DD, a pile of Gelli prints and bubble wrap that needs a home, as well as my two plates that need cleaning and storing.

72013cleanup

There is also my ancient Macbook – it’s the only way I can watch Kate Crane’s DVDs in my office.  They won’t work on my desktop, but this old, old laptop plays any DVD I throw at it so I keep it hanging around.

82013cleanup

 

Two last bits – a pile of stuff I will sell, a couple of stamp sets and a trio of Cricut carts.

92013cleanup

Might have to give them away as I suspect the market for them is not strong!

And finally a very sad story.  I posted about wanting to make a scarf to match a hat I bought for DD for Christmas.  Well, in my frenzy of tidying I’ve “lost” it.  Oh, I am sure it is here SOMEWHERE but I have ransacked the place looking for it and cannot find it anywhere.  It’s possibly someplace like in with the laundry, or where my yarn is, when I was trying to match the colours.  Also, DD saw the scarf pattern I picked and isn’t keen, so with those two things in mind I went looking for a slouchy hat pattern on the net.  If I don’t find the darn thing in time, at least I’ll have a back up.  I looked at 20 patterns, none of them fit the yarn I had or looked exactly as I wanted. A lot of them seem to use super thick or Aran weight yarn and what I have is DK.  So the very last thing is a pattern I wrote up, combining elements of three or four other ones.  I want to do a colour change stitch pattern, like you do in knitting (is it Intarsia?  I think so!) but crochet, so it’ll be interesting to see if it works, and if she likes it!

102013cleanup

 

The instructions are pretty much just a guide – I know what I am doing so I don’t need every detail spelled out, which is why it is so short LOL! I’ll maybe write it up proper and post it and a photo if I manage to finish it.

Now, WOYWW….

 

 

10 thoughts on “The big reveal – 85% done!

  1. Have you checke Ravelry or Lion Brand Yarn websites for a patter? they are very well oranized and all the patterns at Lion Brand are free and most on Ralvery are. I’ve made many things from the patterns there:) The new set-up looks great, how tidy! Thanks for stopping by my desk, merry Christmas and happy WOYWW! Lindsay #5

  2. Wow, what great organization! You’ve got a lot of stuff in that small space. Hope your hat works out well. I just finished knitting a hat, but I think the directions have a math error and give the wrong # of stitches to cast on. It may end up being a child’s size. Boo.

    Happy Woyww and Happy Christmas!

    Sandy #1

  3. Thank you so much for this ‘tour around your studio’… I always LOVE to see other’s workspaces and how each one of you/us stores things and all… there’s so much inspiration in studio’s don’t you think? Have fun (re)arranging and cleaning up the last bits and happy holidays! See you in 2014… hug from Holland. Marit #55

  4. I absolutely LOVE to see people who have more stash than me because it makes me feel so much better about all the unused stuff in my room. Its very comforting having lots of lovely things around to play with though isn’t it?! Have a wonderful Christmas and best wishes for 2014! #41

  5. You had a lot of headway since Weds! I love it! So organized. Tomorrow I am working on a few more crafts and hope to tackle my mess (I mean room) over the weekend! Enjoy your holiday! Hope it is full of fun! Thanks for the visit today! Winnie#51

  6. Is there no end to your talents? Inventing your own patterns too?!
    Loved the tour of your workplace….especially your grocery store ribbon storage-brilliant idea.
    Kyla

  7. I’m also so glad to see I’m not the only one that has a small space w/lots of materials….it goes along w/anyone that does paper arts or mixed media to be sure….And that you can be as creative as you are in such a small space is probably part of your inspiration- you love being surrounded in a cozy space w/all the things you love to work with I bet!

  8. It took a few days, but I made it back for the reveal and I’m very impressed with what you’ve done! Everything looks great, Mary Anne!! I saw on my way through to this post that you still haven’t found the hat (which I’m sure will turn up on December 26th!), but the one you are making is fabulous!! I wish you and your family the happiest of holidays!! Holly Hugs! Darnell

  9. So much organizing goodness going on, I am jealous! 🙂

  10. Ok!
    I admit it!!
    I have been snooping around your Blog, really interesting BUT ….
    The view from your desk, through your window, had me foxed for a bit …. you’re gonna loove this!
    At first glance I thought that was an aeroplane engine and you were flying over the trees …. had to search further and realised it’s not an engine but the rear of your car!!!??!!! oh! I DO keep myself amused!!!
    he! he! he!

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

