scrappystickyinkymess

Gelli over embossing

5 Comments

This is decidedly weird.  Sometimes, I have an idea and it’s more about seeing if it works and then trying to figure out how to USE the idea in the most effective way.  I tend to share even the pure experiments before I actually work out the use of them.  This is one of those posts LOL!

I was thinking of the technique with ink where you emboss then cover the embossing with ink, then iron off the embossing to leave the bare card showing thru.  Usually it is done with clear embossing powder so I did that first:

overembossing

 

I have a couple of 6 x 6 inch background stamps so that made sense with the 6 x 6 inch plate.

I pulled a print onto the embossed cardstock

2overembossing

 

Ironing it off worked, sort of, but my choice of stamp and Gelli print combo wasn’t the best – you can barely see the Gelli part. But the ghost print was interesting.  where the embossing touched the plate it sort of impressed the pattern of the embossing into it and left it, much like it does with a stencil ghost print!

3overembossing

 

So I had a go with some gold embossing and a different stamp:

4overembossing

 

Again, my choice of Gelli prints (bubble wrap) barely shows thru the embossing.  But when I ironed off the embossing powder it gave it a really pretty batik-like effect:

5overembossing

 

The differences between the two are much more apparent in real life!

I tried a more bold Gelli pattern:

6overembossing

 

but again, not totally happy with the combo.  What is left on the plate:

7overembossing

 

and the ghost:

8overembossing

I did try, but didn’t photograph, a couple of text circles, embossed, with a print behind.  Again, it was the combination of the embossed bit and the Gelli print that left me lukewarm. I think more experimentation is clearly needed – as with most things, I like to try a LOT of stuff then try to work out a set of “rules” that will give me the greatest chance of success.  So, single images v overall stamp&embossing? Small scale Gelli patterns v large-scale? Open areas v overall texture? These are the questions I need to answer!  Once I get a firm grip on how the combos are likely to work I will then know in future what will give me the effect I like.

I am also curious about embossing on deli paper and what effect THAT might give – and if the embossing, if left in place and not ironed off, will tear, for collage work, for example, of if breaking the surface tension (is that the right term?) of the embossing will cause it to chip and flake?

So many ideas, so little time to play….So if you have a play be sure to report back your findings.  I’ll be very curious to know what your experiments produce!

5 thoughts on “Gelli over embossing

  1. You are too funny! Love that you post your experiments, whether you consider them fails or not.
    Love the 1st two prints especially…the 1st one – I see a mermaid there. And the batik’y’ one is stunning…so many possibilities on how to use that paper!

  2. Love how you just play. Makes me want to pull out some of my textured wall paper and try it. thanks as always for sharing.

  3. Another awesome and fun idea! I haven’t managed to get the hang of embossing powders, I think I need a better heat gun. Are you really using an iron on it instead? Might need to try that! I love the prints you’ve made, they are beautiful!

    • No no! The technique is to stamp with ink (versamark or other clear embossing ink) on the cardstock then liberally coat the ink with the clear embossing powder. Heat it with a heat gun to set the powder. The do your decorative technique – in this case Gelli print, but traditionally you do some kind of ink, Distress or other dye based ink, over it. The sealed embossing protects the card from the ink. THEN you lay down the card, cover it with a sheet of absorbent paper (like a kid’s sketch pad) and iron over the top. The iron melts the embossing powder, the paper sucks it up, and you are left with the stamped design that is the bare background card and the ink covering the rest of it. Does that make sense? You cannot set embossing powder with an iron.

      Sorry, it’s a very old technique and I have a bad habit of assuming everyone knows what I know 🙂 Hope that info clears it up!

      Cheers

      MA

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

