scrappystickyinkymess

woywwheader

WOYWW 232 – a variety of things

18 Comments

Today what is on my WOYWW desk?  all manner of goodies! First, do you visit Dan99?  He is a super talented crafter, and I love his blog.  We have chatted, virtually, a few times, and I am always fast to admire his work and recently made Bathtub Dan and sent it off to him, on  a whim.  I wanted to make another bathtub shrine and had the idea to make one using a funny image from his blog, so I did.  It seemed the right thing to do to gift it to him.  Well imagine my surprise when I got a lovely box from him yesterday.  Having made the comment before that we were Kindred Spirits, I couldn’t have been more pleased to get this:

3woyww232

Isn’t it scrummy?  and I LOVE how he signs his work:

2woyww232

What else?  Well, I did a short online class from Carla Sonheim.  I stumbled across her work and loved the unusual Gelli prints she makes – very different to most.  She has a handful of techniques that I am not very good at but she inspired me to create a “tool” (and I use that only in the loosest sense)  to help me achieve the look I wanted but seem incapable to doing they way she does.

My prints are nothing like hers, really, and I’m not 100% happy with them but I’m getting there.

4woyww232

There are areas that I love, like this bit from one of them:

woyww232and in fact my desk is not as horrible as it has been the last few weeks because I cleaned up the flag book mess  so I could make a different kind of mess.

5woyww232

I have to sort thru my photos, but I’ll share my tool tomorrow. Now I am happy with it, I just need to play a bit more so I can have some samples to share and explain the process.  It’s not rocket science, but I found it helpful in getting the look I wanted.  And I want to explore the possibilities a little bit more.

Off with DD for ice skating and shopping to fill the empty fridge today, but I’ll return any visits one way or another!

18 thoughts on “WOYWW 232 – a variety of things

  1. So good to see the gelli on the desk with the paints at hand, I so enjoy reading your posts and finding out what you are up to. You will achieve the results eventually it does take time and practice I believe but you are the best at Gelli printing.

    Happy WOYWW
    Eliza & Yoda 2

  2. What an amazing gift you received. I like your prints. #13

  3. Hi, I am loving following your blog, such interesting stuff. I took Carla S class too. I haven’t mastered yet but having fun anyway. I can send you a link if you let me know your email.

  4. What a great gift from Dan – I love his work but don’t visit as much as I should! There are only so many blogs I can get to regularly, lol!! I just saw your previous post, that is one fabulous book. Have continued fun with your gelli plate! Helen 17

  5. Hi there. Just popping my head round the door to say hi.
    Thanks for the peek into your creative world today. Great gift from Dan.
    Hope you have a good week too.
    Neil#39

  6. That is an awesome piece of artwork, Mary Anne, what a beautiful gift. Its fun watching your journey with the Gelli plate- love what you come up with. Have a great week, Hugs, Shaz #21 xx

  7. That is a gorgeous gift, lucky you. We really like your prints, they look fun.

  8. I almost didn’t find the place to comment. Love all that is going on here and what a wonderful gift.
    Glenda #70

  9. Hi MaryAnn …. Yes I have seen Dans work infact I have some of his work from about 7 years ago when he sent me some ATCs they are fab! He’s a talented man. Love visiting your desk every week off to check out the Gelli print lady link
    Jackie 15

  10. As always lots to see! I think your prints are pretty cool, love seeing how you use them. Take care Zo xx 79

  11. What a wonderful gift.
    Your G-prints are really great, love the depth in them. Thanks for sharing
    Krisha #4

  12. I’m totally intimidated by your output and ideas, as you know, and dan99 does exactly the same to me, am completely lacking in the gene that makes you two so fast and loose with the slightly off track images and colour combos. loved your flag book post and this gelli thing jsut won’t wear off for you, huh..good value I say!!

  13. Its really nice when someone “gets” you isn’t it?! Great work with the gelli plates. I’ve managed to hold off so far. #49

  14. Wow what fabulous happy mail, beautiful art (I am loving the frame) and your Gelli Prints are looking fabulous too, may have to go and take a peak at that class myself, any reason to play with my Gelli Plate. Hope you have a great week! Danie #31

  15. You got a lovely gift from Dan! It is just so amazing the things you do with the gelli plate! I haven’t done much at all but once I have more time I will study it properly! I hope that when we get together at the crop we could play with it a little bit – maybe you can share some techniques!
    Thank you for your kind words for my mom! And please turn the lights on!!!
    Lots of hugs,
    Cardarian

  16. Oh what a fabulous surprise in the post, its lovely.
    I was lucky enough to be on a paperartsy Tim Holtz course and shared a table in one session with Dan99 a couple of years ago, a lovely chap (though he wont remember me).

    Glad you enjoyed your Gelli course, and thanks for visiting my desk already
    Kyla ’51

  17. Oh see. Now this is why I’m glad I started WOYWWing again! Just adore the gifts you and Dan did for each other – I already loved your original Stampotique bath tub shrine(I’m guilty of a bit of silent lurking) but his is perfect too! And his gift to you, wow. Powerful.

    Second – I’ve been dithering about Carla Sonheims Gelli class since it came out. Like you I really love her style – after reading this I may treat myself after Christmas 🙂 I love your tool – have pinned that!

    Thanks as always for your generous sharing in your experiments.

    Carmen #82

  18. Yikes… talk about late at desk snooping, my apologies for not popping by sooner, but DH was off for a long weekend and I am getting the desk cleared before visitors arrive later this week! Absolutely love the frame from Dan the Man… his stuff is so cool, I have a wee little mini book he made me many years ago. Annette

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

