scrappystickyinkymess

Venetian Blind Gelli book

5 Comments

This took a while to finish. I have something like 35 photos that I need to sort thru before I can post a step-by-step, or even vague instructions.  They are a mix of the decoration (which I always feel is less interesting, as if someone DID want to make one they would have their own ideas of how to decorate it) and the construction.  The basics of the construction follow a standard Venetian Blind book, although my version does have a bit of a twist to it.

Let me show you the book:

I’ve not really done any decoration on the cover – because the twine twists around it, pretty much anything I do is going to get obscured by that so I am still thinking on it.

vbook

The size is 2 x 8, when folded.  It’s readable in more than one way.  If you untie the twine you can “flip” the pages much like you would any book, although one with a top, rather than a side binding!

2vbook

BUT if you extend the accordion that forms the pages you get something that is more wall-hanging than book….

4vbook

And although I designed it on vellum, the text is far too difficult to read when backlit.  However I did want you to see a shot of it against the window so you can see the effect you would get by layering sheer and opaque papers onto the vellum base.

3vbook

To save your eyes I’ll clue you in to the quotes (actually two, one following the other, not one single quote) from Flowers for Algernon.

The path I choose through the maze makes me what I am. I am not only a thing, but also a way of being–one of many ways– and knowing the paths I have followed and the ones left to take will help me understand what I am becoming.

There are so many doors to open. I am impatient to begin.

Seems totally appropriate for a student, don’tcha think?  The project sprang from having a chat with DS in the past.  We were chatting in the kitchen, listening to Nujabes and a lyric came up saying I’m just a Vagabond with Flowers for Algernon .  Of course I had my Mom-hat  on and had to explain the reference.  Amazingly, on his most recent visit he told me he had SOUGHT OUT and READ the story (I love this kid) and that it got to him, a bit.  So there really wasn’t any question that he needed something with a pithy quote from the book on it, was there?

I’ll try to sort out the bits that explain best the veers I took in the construction and post tomorrow.

5 thoughts on “Venetian Blind Gelli book

  1. Mary Anne, you are filling up my book of quotes. thank you and this project looks promising

  2. I am so happy that I found your blog! I love your books and prints.

  3. Ahhh you are so clever I was wondering when you would post this one, gosh it looks so good. I introduced my BF to the gelli plate yesterday and by golly she is hooked.

    Hugs Eliza

  4. I am part of a bookbinding group at Milliande, now on Facebook. I wondered if you would mind if I posted a link to the post of yours?

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

