scrappystickyinkymess

2014 Calendar circles for CD case (and more)

10 Comments

I found it interesting that recently my blog stats have shown a huge number of hits from various pins on Pinterest for my 2013 Calendar circles.  I found this odd, given that the 2013 version is really not useful.  even if you cut out the day grids, with an idea t swapping them around to match the 2014 grids you would still end up with 2013 on them and the dates might never match perfectly.  I always planned on updating them for 2014 so that was the prod I needed to do so.

And following thru with my attempt to show actual projects rather than just a screen shot of the printables, I’ve done a few of them to give you some ideas on how to use them OTHER than the standard CS case.  Do click up top on the Calendar Making menu item to see the decorated cases thread link – that is still one of my favourite applications.

2013grunge

The printables are here.  This time I took great care to make sure that the little squared the show the cutting lines for a CD case were exactly the same on each two-a-sheet page.  What this allows is for you to cut them apart and (once you sort out the cutting based on what size paper you are using) make something more like a bound at the top flip over calendar.

All I did was cut each sheet with the same border around the square then decorate it.

calendarcircles

I masked off the centre circle, just to make sure the date info was clear. For the first few I did ink and stamping.

I started by inking inside the box with a light colour

calendarcircles1

then added more ink in a darker colour.

calendarcircles2

I stamped around the box, although you could easily leave the mask in place and stamp all over the background.  I don’t think the faint lines will matter much. The straight-edge to these particular stamps work well

calendarcircles3

You can easily theme the months if you like – I will add a thread to the spider body from the top edge of this one:

calendarcircles4

And for this one I used on of the duster brushes to give the background a wispy look instead of the full on overall inking:

calendarcircles5

All three:

calendarcircles6

You can easily do the first 6 months then stick the following months to the backs of them, making a nice flip-over version. Jan to June then working backwards July to Dec.

You can opt to cut out the circles from the surround, which is going to give you  so many more options.  Fo this one, I lightly inked the circle then cut it out.

calendarcircles7

For a more scrappy calendar I just added the circle to paper and decorated that with punches – would have used my snowflake dies but my GC is still out of commission and I’ve only just gotten the email from the UK-based repair place and am awaiting a mailing label.

calendarcircles8

But again, for a bigger calendar you can easily mount the circle, or indeed the decorate square, to a larger piece!

calendarcircles9

So you get my point – you just have to think a bit outside the box, and not just say Well I don’t really want to make a CD case calendar so I’ll skip these.

While I thing these would be OK with Gelli print surrounds, like these

printpull

I do prefer the less pretty font choice.  I think I will revamp the circle set to make the font choice feel more … appropriate for Gelli prints, then share them in another post – although to be fair you could simply mask the above set with a circle and get something similar, without the month circle surrounding it.  The month blocks are slightly larger than ideal to really show off the Gelli printing with a circle mask, so I’ll think on that.

Note:  DONE!  And download from the post here!

funkycirclecalendar2014

Hope that has given you some ideas for creating your own calendars, for you or for gifts, for 2014!

10 thoughts on “2014 Calendar circles for CD case (and more)

  1. Pingback: Calendar Circles – four to a page | scrappystickyinkymess

  2. Hi Mary Anne!
    Thank you so much for these calender circles – I have some old cds from work that are not in use anymore – I took them home to somehow recycle them and I think these calendars will be the perfect solution! I am so excited I will probably start on them today! I haven’t been posting lately but there will be something on my blog today!
    Have a lovely day, lots of hugs,
    Cardarian

    • Oh YAY! Do make sure to show them so I can see! If they turn out anything like your ATCs from the WOYWW crop I’m sure they will be stunning

      Nice to see you back – well behind on my WOYWW hop from yesterday so I will be dropping by later for sure….

      MA

  3. These are super cool. Awesome job! 🙂

  4. these are great! love your work

  5. Thank you for sharing with us….

  6. oh wow… thank you .. so much I love you..xx

  7. Thank you so much! As a Girl Scout leader, I think these free printables will be just what my girls need to make calendars to give to the people who live at the assisted living facility where we meet!

  8. Hello, It is this one the best calendar. I so much looked for her having believed in the typographic change I had abandoned, thank you very much for the update 2014.

  9. Pingback: A quick recap – all 2015 calendar printables and projects | scrappystickyinkymess

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

