scrappystickyinkymess

WOYWW 224 – more of the same

30 Comments

I am still working with Craft Room, the Cricut design tool, and learning more and more about it every day.  You know I suspect people simply do NOT know what they are getting in to when they ask me to review something!  Is that why Julia put my name forth as a potential reviewer?  She knew I would work the thing to death, squeezing every last bit of info out of my play, and attempting to discover things to do with it that may not be immediately obvious?  And that I am only ever going to be completely honest in my reviews?  Will I ever get asked to do another?  Perhaps not LOL!

Anyway, if you read back you will see that I have been playing more with making TOOLS from the Cricut Mini more than projects or layouts or cards.  I’ve done a lot of cutting of stencils from report covers and even made a few foam stamps – not a perfect process, but certainly doable.  What is quite literally ALL OVER MY DESK and floor and side table is the results of my design and cutting.  I’ll share more about the DESIGN process in Craft Room tomorrow, but for WOYWW it seems better to show actual creative work!

So first we have a stencil I cut using a basic Cricut image that I duplicated, rotated, hid contours, etc. I used it for my Gelli Plate, pulling both thru the stencil and then again after removing the stencil.

woyww224

woyww224a

And another one, this one created from dozens of individual characters, but well worth the effort.  I really like it! Same deal – thru the stencil and once removed.

woyww224b

I think it would have been MUCH better had I used a lighter colour as the base, especially when I added the foam stamps in black – they would have stood out that little bit more. I also thing masking the center so the fist punching thru didn’t have the letters behind it would have improved the design.

woyww224e

I also sat looking at the waste left from one of the finger stamps and decided that while the finger were a bit thin, overall it would work as a second stamp:

woyww224c

And I think it did.

woyww224d

Now, it’s time to scamper around the desks and see what else will inspire me.  Life is finally settling down ever so slightly, so I hope to manage more than my commenters and the usual suspects that are on my watch list.  I try to get to at least a few people at random, but I have never once made it thru every name on the list.  One day….

Happy WOYWW!

30 thoughts on “WOYWW 224 – more of the same

  1. ok I total like them all ..but I love the first one that is like a hall way or something. that is just to cool to look at! Thanks for the peek and have a great day. Roberta 7

  2. Ok the first grid pattern is,just too cool! Love the hand stamp image also. The others got a little overly busy. But pretty neat stuff none the less. Happy WOYWW! Nan G #3

  3. Love what you’re doing with your gelli plate.

  4. I read this post then had to back track and read all the other Cricut posts and now I’m back where I started! I love my Gypsy (Cricut handheld designing device) sadly no longer manufactured. Love what you’ve been doing with the mini. I’ve cut stamps from fun foam, but never thought to compress the foam before hand. I love making the layered stamps. Thanks for sharing! : D #4

  5. Always enjoy reading your post they are so informative….., keep doing the reviews and giving your honest opion I love it!
    Jackie31
    Scrapbangwallop

  6. Wow, I love that stencil and what you have done with it.I can imagine this working well with fabric and fabric paints.
    Judy #18

  7. I did scan back quickly – yes, I think you are giving this tool a thorough reviewing…lol!! You have some great results… Happy WOYWW. Helen 22

  8. wow! the basic image looks like a wee plastic basket from above…
    I just love all the different layers!
    happy WOYWW and have a fun week 🙂
    no. 39

  9. oh wow just look at all those amazing things you have made using the cricut I will have to spend some time with mine having a proper play with the craft room. I have got the craft room set up but have not played with it yet but I may be coming back to you for some help and inspiration.
    Have a great day today and a wonderful weekend
    Ria #61

  10. Goodness, you have been BUSY! Well done.
    Have a great week.
    Margaret #70

  11. You make amazing stencils – I think you will make those big companies go out of business! 🙂 I wish I had a cricut but I guess it is too much of an investment for the little stuff I would use it for! I will be using the gelli plate on canvas – need to make a special present – I hope my idea turns out well – do you have any suggestions??
    Lots of hugs,
    Cardarian

  12. I don’t see the point in doing a review that isn’t true to your feelings, so you go and critique as much as you like!! The punching fist is very in your face 🙂
    Hugs, LLJ 58 xx

  13. I knew that you’d do things that other reviews wouldn’t and feel that makes you a valuable reviewer, was just a bit worried that you may not have time. But as usual, I see you’ve morphed into time-stopping mode and found some! Glad things are feeling a bit calmer..look forward to saying the same here in a few days!!

  14. Sounds and looks like you are having a lot of fun! Wish I could come for a play date.
    Happy WOYWW!
    Tertia #40

  15. Of course, I STILL haven’t seen any of this gelly stuff yet….I must be looking in the wrong place! Your creation looks fantastic and so mush fun!! Thank you for my snoop at your desk! Have a great week,
    HaPpY WoYwW?! ((Lyn))
    #54

  16. You sure have been busy. I love that you find every which way to use something! Take care Zo xx 78

  17. Wow! I love this post!!! I want a cricut now and I want it this minute! I don’t entirely know what it is, but wow the cool things you’ve done with it! You’ve sold it to me! Julie Ann xx #45

  18. Thanks for sharing your creative crafty space and hope you have a great weekend

    Candace #60

  19. OMGoodness – how cool !! Your are a genius 😀

    HAPPY WOYWW 124

    IKE in Greece #49

  20. Part of me just wants to stop you and ask just what the heck are you talking about? Okay, okay! I know the circuit and the gelli plate, both of which I have no experience with. I’m sure you have lots of people with them now drooling over this and not wanting to wait to try it. I like what you’ve done, but I’m just going to sit back and watch, ‘kay?

  21. Oh wow, I am following you by email now, I haven’t yet played with my Gelli plate, need to make enough space first! Cutting stencils too, I love it!

    Cazzy x #95

  22. Definitely sounds like you have been having fun putting this tool through it’s paces and I am loving the stencil you created and played with on your Gelli Plate. Have a great week! Happy WOYWW! Danie #38

  23. I love, love, LOVE all the images you’ve made! The first one looks like you are looking up at some tall buildings and the letters one is just awesomeness!

  24. How cool to be able to design and cut any stencil pattern, the only limit being your imagination. I’ve succumbed and asked for a Gelli Plate for my birthday. I blame you entirely!

  25. Oh my goodness… you certainly worked the thing! Love the look of paint coming from a gelli-plate – it has a special ‘feel’ to it don’t you think? Happy, belated, woyww and have fun experimenting some more. Hug from Holland, Marit #79

  26. Hi Maryanne, I love your prints today! I tried making paper beads with some of my gelli prints and they turned out so pretty. It’s an idea for scraps anyway;) happy late woyww! Lindsay #8

  27. I do like the framing. It’s pretty cool that you can manipulate the images to make them your own. Sounds like you have a lot of playing around to do!

    Thanks for visiting me already!
    Happy WOYWW
    Kay (34)

  28. I think you are the ideal person to review it! We all know you will totally put it through its paces and tell it as it is and it does look as though you have had a lovely time doing it! Annette #13

  29. You are rocking the cricut and the Gelli Plate! Love the perspective in your print! Thanks for sharing with the party!

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

