scrappystickyinkymess

Goodtime Charlie’s got the blues….

3 Comments

I was messing about with my Gelli plate the other day, and had the idea to cut a mask from a dingbat.  I loved the Frida stencil on Carolyn’s blog (she of the Gelli Print Party) and wanted something a bit like that.  Rather than go artist, I went pop culture, and cut a dingbat of the Blues Brothers – well, one of them anyway.

bluesbro

The print I liked best was when I pulled the unmasked area, then pulled the paint that had been trapped under the mask over another print.

bluesbro2

The title just came to me, song lyrics, of course, and now I just can’t get it out of my head.  I suppose it’s not that bad, it could have been Rubber Biscuit! LOL!

bluesbro3

Did the printing and embossing on Washi tape again, to add the text.  I really need to source more thin, solid colour Washi tape.  Maybe I can cut the standard size tape in half….  Now I just need to figure out if an idea I had for using these sorts of little prints that are self-contained pieces of art will work.  But I won’t manage that today.  I think I am catching DDs stinkin’ cold.  Grrr.

I am ever hopeful that the 8×10 Gelli plate, sourced from a fellow WOYWW mate, from the Marketplace on UKS, will arrive in the mail today.  How frustrating it will be if it does and I am feeling too rough to actually play with it….I am keen to play with bigger prints.

3 thoughts on “Goodtime Charlie’s got the blues….

  1. Love this stencil, you should market them GF!

    • Glad you like it but it’s from a dingbat called FamousFolk http://www.dafont.com/search.php?q=famous+folk and was edited a fair bit. I still plan to do Elwood 🙂 But the whole copyright thing is tricky so I couldn’t sell it. I could make the edited image available (I think I can make it an SVG, not sure, but certainly as a .jpg to use TRACE with in Scal or the Cameo/Silhouette. If people ask for it, I would certainly share that 🙂

      HTH

      MA

  2. Best dingbat ever! And what a great stencil it made with the Gelli Plate! Brilliant! Thanks for sharing with the party!

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

