scrappystickyinkymess

Making the Word Search notecards

5 Comments

OK, I don’t in fact have additional samples.  DD was keen to re-do her bedroom decor from girlie pink to brown stripes so I spent the day dyeing a cheap duvet cover, sheets and pillow cases.  We also tidied up her desk and still need to change the thin wallpaper border and talk about curtains.  Real Life and all that…

But, as promised, here is the info on creating the notecards.  As I added the PDFs and the PNGs of the backgrounds I used, you can do this without needing to create a word search grid, but look back here to see both how you can do that, and to find the downloads.

I’ll add another one of the cards just so you don’t have to go back if you land here from some link or pin:

sdc111g

1.  Print the grid sheets on to plain paper.  This is just a step to help you check the placement of whatever stamp you are using

sdc111b

This is a throw-away sheet so you can just stamp on it to see where it fits, or pick a different stamp if you need to.

2. Stamp the image using a stamp positioner on thin paper.  I keep them as they can be used with the stamp over and over.

sdc111.1

I find it easiest to put the throw-away piece BEHIND my nice cardstock, making sure the edges are perfectly aligned and having already noted and marked a corner that tells me how to place the cardstock in my printer (see below) so it prints the grid in the right place.  Hold it up to the window, and then match the positioning sheet to the image behind.  You can sort of see that above. I stick the thin sheet to the nice cardstock with repositionable adhesive then put that on my desk.

If you don’t already know, figure out how to place the paper in your printer to ensure the printing goes in the right place.  My printer has a tray for plain paper and used the REAR TRAY (a top feeder that you have easier access to) for heavier cardstock.  Using the SAME feed for both the plain paper print AND the cardstock print will minimize the chance of error:

  • mark an X on plain paper in one corner
  • print the PDF on the plain paper and note how the print is oriented and where the X is positioned when it comes out of the printer

When you place this sheet behind the nice cardstock, make an X in the corresponding corner of the heavy card. Make sure you load the card into the printer the same way as the plain paper to  make sure your stamped image is properly oriented.    You know the grid will print exactly as it did on the plain paper so long as you feed the card the same way

3. Line up the stamp positioner with the edges of the thin paper, remove the paper and  stamp on the nice cardstock. If you don’t know how to use a stamp positioner,so sorry I didn’t take photos of that but there are 1000s of other who have.  This link is as good as any. Here is a video that uses a clear plate rather than tracing paper.  I bet you could use a bit of acrylic.

4. Cut masks for the stamped image.  Masking Magic is good, but a Post-It note is probably not secure enough, unless you add additional repositionable adhesive.   You DO NOT want this mask to come off inside your printer, trust me!  Place the mask over the stamped image and send it thru your printer. Coming out of the printer – can you just see the mask? The border lines are NOT on the final PDF.  I decided they were not needed and made them harder to use different ways.

sdc111c

You can store the mask on the stamp positioning sheet that matches it – why I like using the paper rather than a clear plate or sheet of acrylic!

5.  Be careful removing the mask, especially when using Masking Magic.  The printer ink will be wet and you can easily get printer ink on your fingers and smear it on the card. Also, if you use repositionable adhesive, be careful rubbing that off.  Using Staz-on or Archival Ink ti stamp the image will help minimize the chance of any smearing.

sdc111d

That gives you the word search background, with the stamped image over it and no text behind the image.  I made these for the Stampotique Challenge, hence my use of the Stampotique images, but I think you could use many different image and it would still look good.  You can then ink or paint or whatever to add colour, like I did for this card:

sdc111h

Sorry to show that one AGAIN LOL! Still cute tho’

ALTERNATIVE OPTION:

This is easier, but you have to be sure everything is stuck very securely.  You are dealing with thin paper, with heavy cardstock stuck to it, then a mask stuck in place over the stamped image.  While it omits the need for a stamp positioner entirely, I think the chance of something shifting in the printer is higher.  KNOW YOUR PRINTER – if you know this is going to be a problem, use the first method.

  • stamp the image on cardstock
  • mask the image
  • trim the cardstock to exactly the size you need for your card or project
  • stick this piece of cardstock FIRMLY to the plain printed sheet, with the image positioned over the grid exactly where you want it
  • run the plain paper (with the cardstock stuck to it) thru your printer
  • peel the cardstock off the plain paper and peel off the mask etc.

I have to say I just love this technique and think it has legs, as they say – there is a lot you can do with it.

5 thoughts on “Making the Word Search notecards

  1. Thanks Mary Anne, that’s really useful and I really will give it a go, even though I’m a bit scared of my printer! I love the way you make technology work for you and mix it with all kinds of media, genius! :o)

  2. Thanks for the info Mary Anne, very clear and easy to follow. Love the end results and will have a go at this myself.
    Ann B

  3. Awesome cards, it all looks fantastic especially with the funky stampotique it really makes the word search card.

    Hugs Eliza

  4. Great cards! Thanks for the great instructions, love your cards and will give this a try.

  5. Hi MaryAnne,

    Wow – love this tutorial! I don’t know what it is about these cute little guys but I love them! Not the usual froo-froo type stamps that I’m drawn to.

    The nice thing about being so late visiting WOYWW posts is that sometimes I get to see other posts!!

    Peace,
    Kay

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

