scrappystickyinkymess

Notecard gift set

5 Comments

DH is of to Japan tomorrow, to work for a week.  He’ll be staying with and working with a customer who is a friend as well.  The customer and his wife have visited us a few times, and they always bring a lovely little paper gift for me, often origami paper.  DH asked me to make a card for him to give them, but I thought I could do better.  It took me a while to work out the specifics, but I think I have it nailed down. It’s a little notecard holder with a set of cards and envelopes made using one of her past paper gifts.

I made a quick card, with three Happi Coat folded shapes on the front. I kept it simple so as not to detract from the heavily patterned origami paper, but it still needs something, just not sure what.

notegiftcard

This little project only required a sheet of 12 x 12 cardstock and a sheet of A4 ( I think US letter sized card is OK but I didn’t test it.)  Of course you need some additional paper and card for the decoration, and a second sheet of 12 x 12 cardstock would allow you to double up and make the holder much thicker and sturdier. I only had a single sheet of the colour I wanted to use so I made do.

1. Cut the 12 x 12 cardstock to 8 x 11.  Score it at 5 and 6 inches

notegift

My envelopes are  6 1/4 by 4 1/2 inches and the cards are just under 6 x just over 4 inches. The set includes four cards with envelopes and the embellishments are thick.  There is a formula.  For making these pockets to fit any size envelope and card set, measure the envelope.

  • Envelope Pocket = width of the envelope + 1 3/4 inches
  • Cards Pocket = width of the envelope + 2 inches

Height of both is the same and flexible but about 2 inches shorter than the HEIGHT of the envelope is a good place to start.

  • Holder = 2 x the width of the envelope plus 2  inches (although this could be a little bigger, I think in needs at LEAST 2 inches added)

Of course for very wide cards you would need to join two pieces to make the holder.

2. Cut the A4 cardstock into ONE 6 3/4 x 5 inch piece (for the cards) and ONE 6 1/4 x 4 3/4 inch piece (for the envelopes)

  • Score the ENVELOPE pocket on three sides at 1/2 inch and 3/4 inch.

notegift2

  • Score the CARDS pocket on three sides at 1/2 inch and 1 inch

notegift3

3.  Cut away the two corners where the score lines overlap. Do this on both pieces.

notegift4

4.  Crease the score lines back to create the box shape.  Add double sides adhesive just to the three outer flaps.

notegift5

Decorate the front of the pockets.  It’s easier to do it now than wait till it is stuck in the holder – or at least it was for the decoration I did.

notegift6

Now might be a good time to decorate the cover and add a ribbon to tie it closed.

notegift9

5.  Peel the backing off the tape on the pocket flaps.  Fold in the sides, then fold up the bottom, sticking the bottom flap to the two sides. This just ensures the shape  is right and makes sticking it to the holder easier.

notegift7

6. Stick the pockets inside the holder.  Be careful to place them evenly.  To make sure they are well stuck, use a pencil or your bone folder to press down from inside the pocket.

notegift8

Slip the cards and envelopes in, tie it up, and yo are done. You could add a book of stamps if you wanted to!

notegift10

Here are the cards – they are pretty simple but I think she will like them:

notegift11

The envelopes just have the same Koi carp stamped on the flap.

I have WOYWW to thank for the idea.  I’ll have to go back and check so I can say who it was, but one of the desks I visited mentioned note card sets, and it got me thinking along those lines.  Isn’t WOYWW just the best for inspiration?

to add:  it was Queenartopia who mentioned the notecard set!

5 thoughts on “Notecard gift set

  1. Your friend will love these I’m sure. Thank you.

  2. Thank you so much for the inspiration.

    I had made up 10 invitations and envelopes for my Granddaughter’s 5th Birthday party. She requested Elmo Pop-Up cards. I used your post as a guide and now everything looks so much nicer inside the custom folder. Have taken photos but as Elmo is trademarked, I am not sure if it appropriate to post.

    As always thank you for sharing with the measurements.

    • Oh my DD still loves Elmo! I think it would be OK to post, just not to make it available as a download. If you took a photo of the item yourself, it should be fine.

      Love to see it 🙂

      MA

  3. I love Japanese papers. Your set is beautiful . I am inspired to try my own card set.

  4. Love the Asian inspired notecards. Very pretty!!

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

