scrappystickyinkymess

Odd little Mini book for small photos

2 Comments

Lots of photos 🙂

I had this idea to make a small mini book.  I found a collection of 6×6 papers, they don’t say the maker on them, but I think it might be Prima.  That defined the size.  I knew I wanted it to be a collection of the kids, and I knew I wanted to use either small photos (lots of them) or split photos, like the mini I did previously, maybe both together.  In fact I might end up using a lot of the SAME photos so if the Grandparents get them, there’ll be no discussion of who got what photos!

Just the construction today – I’ll be busy with the kids while DH is off cooking chili – but maybe I’ll finish it tomorrow or at the next crop.

It actually uses pretty minimal resources.

  • three 8 x 6 pieces of cardstock
  • two 6 x 6 pieces of cardstock
  • two 4 x 6 pieces of cardstock
  • eight pieces of 6 x 6 patterned paper – or scraps, some at least 6 x 4, some 6 x 2.75
  • 24 inches of ribbon

1. Score the three pieces of 8 x 6 cardstock along the long side, at 2, 4, and 6 inches.  Accordion fold all Valley, Mountain, Valley fold. Ignore the bi-fold sheet at the back.

SoLuckymini

2. Decorate all the front surfaces.  I mixed up pieces that cover a Valley or a mountain with thinner strips.

SoLuckymini2

I wasn’t going for a super-Distressed look, but I did dust the edges with Antique linen, just to knock back the white core of the paper.

SoLuckymini3

3. Cover the reverse of the two side pieces. I like to make an X on the two inside-most surfaces as a reminder not to cover them.

SoLuckymini4Do make sure you keep track of which edge is the TOP (maybe add a small tab sticker or a paper clip) – I know when I am working stuff gets turned every which way.  Not a big deal on non-directional prints, but if it matters to the pattern to be one way, keep it in mind.

SoLuckymini6

4.  Score the two 4 x 6 pieces 1/8 inch on either side of the 2 inch mark:

SoLuckymin7

Crease one with the texture INSIDE and one with it OUTSIDE if you are using textured cardstock.

These will join the two 6 x 6 pieces to create the covers.

5. Stick the X-marked areas to the inside of the covers, one just at the left edge, one just at the right.  Check the orientation before you stick them in.

SoLuckymini11

 

6. Stick the centre folded piece to the middle, not quite up to the edge of the side pieces, but with the centre fold over the centre fold in the spine.

SoLuckymini12

 

You want the centre to remain like a pop-out, IYKWIM.

7. I added a simple ribbon tie by folding the ribbon in half, putting the fold around the spine, and sticking the ribbon to the front and back covers. Pretty standard stuff.

SoLuckymini14a

 

8. Cover the front and back with the cover sheets.

SoLuckymini15

 

DONE. This is what it looks like from the top:

SoLuckymini13

 

and open:

SoLuckymini14

 

I think it’s going to be a fun one.  Also, I have limited resources, just what came in the pack (was it a crop purchase?  I think so) but I may root around and see if I can find some other stuff to go with.  They it’s printing photos and it’ll be done.

I love the skinny page format.  I don’t know why, it just appeals to me.  I think I like the challenge of making photos fit when most photos don’t naturally fit this format.  Something I used to do a lot, back in the bark days when you could only develop film to get actual photos, is to use the small sheet of index prints.  I am thinking this lends itself to those, or even film-strip/photo booth style strips.  I do know I like the book enough not to rush to finish it until I am happy with my plan.

Hope you like it too!

 

2 thoughts on “Odd little Mini book for small photos

  1. I love this little book, its pretty but quirky 🙂

  2. Very Cute! Quick and easy project! I think I’ll make several for the upcoming Holidays! TFS!!

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

