scrappystickyinkymess

Unusual, possibly offensive to some, quilts

20 Comments

I stumbled on a couple of quilt in my travels. These are quilts that seriously push the boundaries.  The first one is OLD – It’s called  The Suns Sets on Sunbonnet Sue and depicting the death of Sue, in all manner of interesting ways.  With blocks named Run in with the Mob (Sue, with a cement block tied to her ankle) Eaten by a Snake (Sue, as a silhouette within the belly of a snake) and Sunbonnet Soup (in a cannibal’s pot) most of them made me giggle.

The Sun Sets on Sunbonnet Sue

The other one, I have dithered and dithered about whether or not to post the actual image or just the link to it.  I’ve gone for the image, because I don’t mind it and I do love the quilt.  With luck, those of a sensitive nature will have read the title and bypassed this post entirely.

…a handful of blank lines to give you time to hop away…..

.

.

.

.

.

.

…really, if you are easily offended, don’t scroll down……

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

…you have been warned….

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

 

Called Give a F*ck, it is explained by the creator thusly:

In this project, a group of quilters challenge several boundary notions about quilts. Now that text in designs is acceptable, should the text be censored? We express our potty-mouths in patchwork using the ultimate in four-letter words.

While I wouldn’t make this exact quilt (but I totally would have if the idea had occurred to me) , I do love the word blocks idea.  And that is one to file away for the future…

20 thoughts on “Unusual, possibly offensive to some, quilts

  1. Love these quilts!!

  2. So good to see for a change and yes I do like them both.

  3. I’m sorry but most of your stuff is lovely the 1st Quilt was downright Offensive & l dread to think what the other one was……… My guess would be worse of the same with every filthy word ‘under the sun’ put in as well. It is very sad that the ‘art’ of someone in the UK is shown around the world as this, l am Portuguese but married to an Englishman & have lived for 25 yrs there so you give a terrible portrait of English woman, sadly l shall now try to delete you. You have a great deal to learn in life that you should always, when in doubt ‘err on the side of caution’.

    Goodbye.

    • It may not be obvious but I’m not actually British. Although we live here, and have done on and off for the last nearly 20 years, I was born an American.

      I always knew it was a risk to post it, but personally I think it makes a statement about censorship, and I like it from a purely style POV, f-bomb or not – and for that reason I felt it was worth adding.

      Cheers,

      Mary Anne

  4. How do l DELETE your emails please.

    • I think if you click FOLLOW at the top it will switch it to UNFOLLOW, but I don’t know. If you can’t manage to delete the email get back to me and I’ll see if I can delete you.

      HTH

      Mary Anne

  5. I love BOTH quilts. Its hard to find such wonderful pieces of work for sale and then to have such a humorous theme. I wish I had come accross them.

  6. Haaaaa, well these made all of us laugh out very loud, we do like the alternative and think art is there to be explored in all manners.

  7. very amusing, although I probably wouldn’t want to own either of them, I do like the concepts. I could totally see the second quilt done with a name for example – very interesting idea.

  8. Lol. Made me laugh! Lighten up, folks!

  9. Love them both – first one shows innovative use of applique techniques, and the second shows creative piecing – getting all the seams to line up on the words would certainly have been challenging – doesn’t matter what the word is, it’s the work and presentation skills that have gone into it that make it a fab quilt – In My Humble Opinion…. 🙂

    Controversial choice of word? yes, but that was the whole point – some art is meant to challenge and stimulate and evoke discussion, and quilt #2 does that in spades!

  10. I love these quilts! Funny…made me laugh out loud. Thanks for bringing them to us!

  11. WHY would talented people waste their time on this kind of art???

  12. Sun Bonnet Sue is a riot and I am sure you will get a ton of comments from those that do not like the word quilt. I would not make one like that but can certainly see the humor in it. I wonder how many times the person that made it stuck her fingers while quilting!

  13. I liked the both, for different reasons. Thanks for sharing.

  14. PMPLing… I would have the first quilt in a lickety split second… it appeals to my sense of humour!! I probably wouldn’t want the second one because of the f word, but that is down to personal taste, but have to admire the way text is used and incorporated.

    and why are some folk getting all upset? It’s not like they weren’t warned enough times! LOL

  15. You have done wonders for the quilting world by posting this! You quilters are not a prissy and narrow minded bunch at all. All crafts evolve and boundaries change. Well done for having the courage to post this.

  16. Those are both awesome quilts!! Its a side of quilters I have never seen before 🙂

  17. Really interesting quilts, and my daughters (in late teens) found the second one hilarious. I do think people shouldn’t take some things so seriously 🙂

  18. I thought both quilts were really amusing. I am 62 and I hope open-minded enough to take things like this in my stride. If you are easily offended there pcertainly was enough warning given about the word quilt. Some people just need to lighten up.

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

