scrappystickyinkymess

SDC108 – French Flair gothic arch

8 Comments

I’ll admit, I totally forget yesterday when I did my WOYWW post that Weds. is also the debut of the new Stampotique Designers Challenge.  So I set aside the ATCs to do that instead.

All in all it went together rather easily, and I certainly enjoyed making it.

sdc108

I had in my mind that I would have a go at a gothic arch.  I had seen references to a Gothic Arch challenge blog on other WOYWW desks but when I went to have a look it looks like it stopped new posts last year!  That’s me in a nutshell, a day late and a $ short, as they say.  Never mind.  I sent ahead with is anyway.

Never having done one before, I was a little all at sea, but what I ended up doing was starting with a base of a lovely old Paris postcard image from The Graphics Fairy.  I printed it twice, then cut a pretty basic arch shape out of one of them.  I added some Distress Ink then brushed on some thick gold paint around the inside of the arch.  Hard to see, but I added pop dots/foam pads around the cut out area.  Sticking the cut-out to the outer edges of the 2nd image, and having it popped around the open edges gave the whole thing a real depth.

sdc108depth

For the bottom edge, to create a stand element, I cut a bit of an old frame embellishment, wider that the base.  By sticking THAT just at the sides, it created a bowed effect.  that allows the arch to stand up freely. A scattering of vintage-y elements and the quote from Casablanca finished it off. For that, I used a bit of this image, just cutting out the PARIS word digitally to make the text banner.

sdc108bowedstand

I coloured the stamped images with Copics but then knocked back the brightness a little with some Vintage Photo distress ink. The little couple are the same two I used on the True Love box, for an SDC challenge eons ago,  and I like to think of them as having grown up and moved on but alway remembering their time in Paris fondly. In order to get the best image the biggest I had to lead off with the surprise inside.  Not the way I would usually choose to do it, but hey ho, the magic of WordPress dictates it.

8 thoughts on “SDC108 – French Flair gothic arch

  1. Oh fabulous work with those Stampotique stamps!

  2. You tackled a big project and, no matter how you got there, it is absolutely amazing! These two make a sweet couple–especially in Paris!

  3. love the ‘love birds’ together. Really nice project. Brought a smile to my face.

  4. j’dore this! it’s brilliant. Thanks for joining in with us at Stampotique this week!

  5. That’s a lovely card and a great couple 😀 Thanks for joining us at Stampotique. XOXO

  6. WOW! Fantastic creations. Thank you for joining Stampotique Designer’s Challenge. Gez

  7. This is so utterly wonderful!! I just love that rose in that toothy mouth, LOL!! Thanks so much for joining me this week at the Stampotique Designers Challenge!

  8. Wow, now that is utterly awesome! Love how different it is and the dimension of it. The roses are such a sweet addition. Thanks for joining us at Stampotique Designer’s Challenge.

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

