scrappystickyinkymess

WOYWW 214 – mag inspiration

17 Comments

Hello WOYWWers! Very lax today.  This should have been scheduled yesterday but there was way too much going on to get to it.

Last week when the power was out I got the current issue of Craft Stamper through the letterbox.  I did what I always do, which is have a quick flick thru it to see if anything sparks me off, but instead of putting it aside for another day, I actually had the time to try something right then and there.

The article, by Jean Beck, was about folding up paper then saturating the folded corners with Distress Stain. Unfold.  Fold, soak. Unfold.  Fold, soak, etc. all well and good but I really think that you have to let the paper dry between soakings, cause mine just tore into pieces when I tried to unfold it.  I will re-read the article with a little more attention to detail, but what I took from it the first read was the DRYING stage was only for the final step when you smudge on Distress ink to “fill the gaps”.  Quite possibly my inattention to detail, but what I had in the end was a bunch of little bits.

woyww214Don’t get me wrong, I love the way they look, but it certainly isn’t a whole-cloth sort of thing.

I did two of them, the one above and another one that used some sprays as well and some drawing ink too. That one held together better, maybe because I didn’t fold the whole thing, but did it in sections.  You can see it there to the side.

woyww214bI stuck them with gel medium to ATC bases.  Today, I’ll hope to finish them, as well as complete the Pan Pastel one from yesterday.  Then, I guess if I am going to make the darn things I should probably try to trade them.  Or maybe, as is my way, I’ll just hoard them….

woyww214c

woyww214d

Have a great WOYWW.  Off to drop of DH’s car for servicing.  He’s been using mine and it’s a right pain in the butt to be without.

17 thoughts on “WOYWW 214 – mag inspiration

  1. I really like the way you have pieced your ATC’s together like that it looks fantastic.
    Sandy 🙂 #43

  2. you have such an eye for shape and form, mary anne! I think they look wonderful!
    happy WOYWW and have a fun week 🙂
    no. 31

  3. Seems such a simple idea but very effective. But O so messy I guess. Or is that just me who would end up with more ink on me than the paper!! Take care Zo xx 65

  4. Well they turned out brilliantly, although maybe not what you were planning – but that’s often the way I guess! Annie C #68

  5. I love the idea in theory… how messy did it actually get when doing all that dunking? LOL I like both, but the pinky one reminds me of a fabby little quilt and is my favourite. Happy woyww Annette #7

  6. Sometimes something really fun and wonderful comes from trying out a different technique that does not seem to work right away… I LOVE your colourful pieces glued together on an ATC!! Happy woyww and hug from (warm and sunny!) Holland. Marit #91

  7. We tried this and agree, it does need drying between layers, also it was. Lot messier than the photos led you to believe, it was fun though and we also tried the technique with alcohol inks on folded card.

  8. Kristin from the states, I will do a trade with you. Let me get a couple made to make the postage worth my while of standing in the line at the post office, dread that. How does that sound???

  9. Another great idea and mention of a neat magazine. Working on an ATC to send you with some other goodies. Happy thoughts,
    Petrina

  10. Always enjoy your experimenting with new techniques, and then writing about them. You get such interesting & fantastic results, and it sparks lots of ideas for me that I’d never think of on my own. TFS

  11. saw that technique, in CS, looks like it could be interesting. I shall be having a look for that Smeared Ink set being used, one of these days! I think the ATC’s actually look very cool, all collaged together like that. Have a great week, Hugs, Shaz xx #51

  12. Must say I do like how it’s come out especially on the red one and colours look good !
    Thank you for everything already Jackie 15

  13. Thank you for sharing, it’s a very good idea I try tomorrow. I love the red .

  14. I was taken by that article too… Sorry I missed you at Newbury – there was no way I was going on Sunday as I had to watch the tennis!! Glad you approve of my little (ahem) shopping I did! Helen 17

  15. Well, that’s a clever idea!! Sometimes, random patterns are the hardest to achieve but you’ve really succeeded. It sounds like a clever technique…do you think you’ll use it very much?
    Hugs, LLJ 45 xx

  16. Hi Mary Ann – thanks for popping by – your pieced together bits remind me of serendipity squares – which I haven’t done for a while – yay inspiration strikes… thanks – Have a great week – Happy WOYWW – Mxx #89

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

