scrappystickyinkymess

Pan Pastels + acrylic medium and the Gelli Plate

4 Comments

I mentioned using a bit of a sample of a Pan Pastel technique on the SDC post last week where I pulled a print on the shiny side of an old CD, but the thin strips were so small you had no chance of actually seeing what it was like! This is the ATC background I alluded to:

panandgelli8

How I got to this is:

I smudged Pan Pastels all over the paper.  It can be a solid covering or a patchy one, single colour or lots.

panandgelli

I brayered on the Acrylic medium through a stencil. You can either then remove the stencil to get the pattern only, or you can brayer on the medium, lay on the stencil, pull that print, then remove the stencil and pull THAT one. You know the drill. Pull the print over the Pan Pastels.

panandgelli2

panandgelli3

Now, once it dries, the pastels are trapped under the medium. You can erase the rest of the background, you can add more pastels over it …

panandgelli4

panandgelli5

Here you can see the different techniques in the four quadrants. Bottom right you can see it with the background erased.  I’m curious to play more and see what happens if you maybe then pull a regular paint-y print over that.  Might be cool, might be rubbish, not sure yet.

panandgelli6

or even daub on the Distress Stain,like in the Gelli Arts video,  or mist  mica-mists. What is kinda cool is that the pastels trapped under the gel still retain a slightly matt quality (or at least with the matt medium they do!)

panandgelli7

 

I really like the ATC background.  I’ll have to consider a bit more what I want to do to finish that off…

 

 

4 thoughts on “Pan Pastels + acrylic medium and the Gelli Plate

  1. May I share a link to your blog on my Facebook page and blog?

  2. On my recent travels I visited a store in New England that had the Gelli plates (which I’ve not found in my South Carolina area). Thanks to your blog, I knew what the item was! First I picked up the smaller one, then went back and got the larger one (dunno why…just in case I never find these again I suppose!). The store owner was ‘new’ to Gelli plates as well, but very kindly sat down and did some experimenting as a demo. I shall be using your blog as a good reference to learn how to use this new toy. Thanks for the inspiration AND the education!!! Hugs

  3. Pingback: A different sort of blog hop | scrappystickyinkymess

  4. Super tuto merci

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

