scrappystickyinkymess

SDC107 – recycle

10 Comments

SDC 107 is RECYCLE IT! This was an easy one.  I never seem to throw anything away.  I try, but on the way to the rubbish bin I almost always look again at the things I am holding and start taking bits out I’ll save that, I can use THAT, those colours are fab... This piece is basically recycled everything.  The CD base is an old Winnie The Pooh cd that came with the Sunday paper, probably back when DD was about 5 or 6 (she’s 16 now), the text is printed on a scrap from a Pan Pastel technique where the rest formed an ATC background.  The ribbon was from a bit of packaging (chocolates maybe?) and the bits that cover the centre hole in the cd are also scraps from random projects.

gellicd2

The base I mentioned the other day when I was talking about the Gelli plate play.  This is what it looked like with just the pull from the plate and the Pearl-ex and acrylic medium on it:

gellicd

The quote is from A Confederacy of Dunces (again) and the font ( called Collateral Damage) is very much in the Ralph Steadman / Fear and Loathing style . I was reading Fear and Loathing on the Campaign Trail recently so it was on my mind.  The font isn’t that easy to read, but it says Oh Fortuna! I am strapped to your wheel. Blind, heedless goddess. Do not crush me beneath your spokes.

From an angle the Pearl-ex in medium is better seen?

gellicd3

Off to crop in the AM so scheduling this one.  Hopefully I’ll have time to link it in the morning!

10 thoughts on “SDC107 – recycle

  1. Wonderful Creation and a great idea. Thanks for sharing with us at Stampotique Designer’s Challenge.
    Sarinda

  2. Great recycling, always love Twinkie!!!
    Thanks for joining in with us at Stampotique this week.

  3. Very cool project! Finally you could use that old CD 😉 Thanks for joining us at Stampotique. XOXO

  4. Fabulous upcycling, I must admit, he his one of my favourite stamps.
    Kyla
    ps – happy belated WOYWW

  5. Twinkie is one of my all-time favorites, so I love your project for that reason alone….but, I have to admit, this is so very clever! Love it!

  6. very clever… love that image! have a lovely week, jenx

  7. Brilliant idea to gelli print the CD! It turned out fabulously!! Thanks for sharing with the party!

  8. Pingback: Pan Pastels + acrylic medium and the Gelli Plate | scrappystickyinkymess

  9. Great disc tag and sentiment. love your colours

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

