scrappystickyinkymess

gelliheaderblog

I just don’t know where to start! So much Gelli fun…

1 Comment

OK, although I have maybe 4 posts I could do, I am going to carry on with the one that (sort of) matches my earlier one.  That one was about mixing up Pearl-ex (or other mica powders) with acrylic medium and using it like a paint on the Gelli Plate to create a sheer glimmer effect.  I feel like I have only scratched the surface of this, but I have so much to share! THIS one is what I mentioned, and that is mixing the medium with ultra-fine glitter to use like paint.  Now, for this sample I did mix in a small amount of mica powder as well, although a daub of paint would work too, just to give the medium some colour.  Proportions?  Well I suspect it will very much depend on the product you have.  I used about a heaped teaspoon of medium (I added more after I took the photo) maybe 1/8th tsp mica powder (and this was cheap, inferior powder so very little colour transferred) and maybe 1/4 tsp Maya Road ultra-fine glitter.  You really do NOT want to use chunky or glass glitter for this – I’m pretty sure that will tear up your plate!

gelliglitter

Mix it up to a smooth paste and brayer it on your Gelli plate.  Now, I tend to use this technique as a final pull on top of a plain paint one so use it thru a stencil.  Experiment.  Maybe layering this mixture over another paint layer might work.

gelliglitter2

You can get a pretty thick coating and it will still be pretty sheer, even with the small bit of mica. I did a pull on plain white paper, because I think it demonstrates it a bit better.

gelliglitter5

But I think it looks great over a previous print

gelliglitter3

AND, like yesterday, if you scrap up all the excess with a palette knife or catalyst tool you can force it thru the stencil to create a thick glitter layer. less sheer but still textured and cool.This photo was taken while it was still wet, but as it dried it got slightly more sheer.

gelliglitter4

One thing worth warning about – the medium is a little … sticky, I guess.  Press firmly on the paper to transfer as much as you can, but don’t be surprised if there is a def ghost left that you can’t get off.  Clean your plate,  Also, don’t leave the paper on there for too long – instead of pulling the medium onto the paper, the paper can stick to the medium and thus to the PLATE, which is a pain.

I do think this is a fun one, but once again, be careful about what you are mixing in.  Nothing so gritty it will damage the surface of your plate.  Ultra-fine glitter is what I used.  Not sure if kid’s quality glitter is going work but you could maybe mix up a tiny bit then sort of rub it between your fingers and check the grit.  If it feels sharp, even sharp-ISH in any way, I wouldn’t use it, or limit myself to a tiny corner of the plate just to see.

The ugly samples from yesterday?  They involved pulling the print then daubing on Distress Stain.  It does NOT dull the sparkle of the glitter so def. something to look at again. AND I am already wondering about a glittery pull on contact paper…..but that will have to be a play for another day. I have to finish the project then I can share the CD I mentioned earlier. But probably not today!

One thought on “I just don’t know where to start! So much Gelli fun…

  1. Pingback: Gelli plate, Acrylic medium and Pearl-Ex | scrappystickyinkymess

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

