scrappystickyinkymess

woywwheader

WOYWW 213 – playtime!

21 Comments

Hello you WOYWWers!  I am determined not to whine about all my stupid technology issues AGAIN.  Because I can’t be online as much as I would like I have been forced to play.  Poor me!  {grin}

It’s a funny thing. I dragged out a bunch o’ stuff and started thinking of techniques I have seen but not tried.  Then I started thinking What if…?

The desk is a bit of a mess today as a result.

woyww214

The things I was playing with: Pan Pastels, Distress Stains, Acrylic Medium on the Gelli Plate, drawing ink and a scrap of contact paper.

I use the Acrylic Medium over the Gelli plate instead of paint and smudged on the Pan Pastels. I laid a stencil over the sticky side of the contact paper and smudged on the pastels, then stuck that to a scrap of cardstock. I did the Acrylic medium then splodged on Distress Stain. And finally the fish – that actually has something interesting going on but I want to play with it a bit more before I explain it.  I’d like to try a few more things so when I report on it I can say with more certainty what to do to get the effect.

The only one that I think was actually a bit silly and useless was the Pan Pastels on the sticky side of contact paper.  Don’t get me wrong, it WORKED fine, and both seals the pastels under the film (not smudging) and makes them look shiny/glossy.  I just can’t think of a reason to use it on a project. What does it buy you?  It’s more of a curiosity.  Maybe at some point the fact it works will make me think Oh, that would be perfect for….. but now, it’s just a weird thing I did.

Anyway, that’s me done.  With luck the internet connection will be back to full strength this morning (and the power won’t blow) and tomorrow, when I already KNOW we will be without power for the entire day, I’ll get a chance to refine the one technique that I think is actually kinda cool and report back on it.  Oh and busy weekend – crop on Saturday and Newbury Artistamps on Sunday.  See you there?  I’d say I’ll be wearing my WOYWW badge but I have NO IDEA where it is!

Happy Wednesday! Oh and my new theme lets me set a featured image that will only appear on this post – I was playing with that too and created the special WOYWW header.  The image is an ATC from WAY back, and the quote is altered from the original (from A Confederacy of Dunces) for WOYWW It should say Actually I find the atmosphere of this room rather comforting. I wanted to use the one that says Canned food is a perversion, I suspect that it is ultimately very damaging to the soul but to make it actually work for WOYWW I would have had to digitally edit the text just way too much.  Maybe another week….

21 thoughts on “WOYWW 213 – playtime!

  1. Loved the header, it is fab, you are such a techy whizz!! Getting used to my new routine in my new job, so must fly now… Helen 2

  2. I love the fact that you are so inquisitive or brave with the things you use on your Gelli plate
    I would worry it was going to damage the surface and shy away from the things you do!!!
    I must try and be more brave like you
    Jackie 38

  3. What a lot of bold experimentation! I hope to return next week to see what you did with that fish, or if you had any ideas of how you could use that technique! Inspirational blog post – thanks for sharing! Julie Ann x #54

  4. You cold use the pan pastels under plastic on a card? Tiz the only thing I can think of!

  5. You might be Internet challenged, but I seem to by typo challenged…Could, not cold and I am #49!

  6. Well, I like the results of your experimentation! The fish is particularly satisfying…I love it. It puts me in mind of Roman mosaics for some reason!
    Have fun at the crop and stamp show!!
    Hugs, LLJ 59 xx

  7. Looks like you have had fun. Great patterns and am sure you’ll enjoy creating more! Take care Zo xx 69

  8. Hello there, sorry to hear the technical issues continue, how annoying. On the plus side, it makes more time for creativity, and we love your Gellexperiments!

  9. gosh you really have been playing but isn’t that what craft and art is all about. Loving that you just went for it and that you are sharing your findings with us all
    Happy WOYWW and have a great week
    Ria #52

  10. mm very very interesting Maryanne dont have acrylic medium but makes me think surely have something that could use to do it looks so fab!! Thanks for sharing and happy WOYWW Shaz in Oz.x #36

  11. I am not sure about the Gelli plate but I am waiting to see until I do the Clarity workshop in August. Barbara has promised we can play then. I do love some of those effects you have achieved though. Thank you for your visit. I am off now to watch the Men’s singles. No shredding or filing will be done, just delivering cups of tea to the roofers. Have a good week. xx Maggie #3

  12. Love the way the fish has come out, gorgeous colours. Have a great time at the weekend. Hugs. Pam#27

  13. I love it when the ‘what if’ factor gets involved. These are great experiments. Love your header too, by the way. Have a great week, Hugs, Shaz #41 xx

  14. Nice new header, bat country indeed! I see no other theme picture though, but is that becasue I’m using silly ipad again? Argh. So sorry to read of the broadband issues again, what a waste of time. Excpet its not really is it..you get to innovate for us instead!

  15. Ha, once I published the comment, I get your WOYWW header as the page refreshes. How weird. It’s great though, nonetheless!

  16. Looks like you’ve been having fun getting messy. I’ve got a Gelli plate, just haven’t gotten around to use it yet. Thanks for stopping by. barb #11

  17. Love the bat country header!! Looks like you’ve had a good ol’ play with your stash. Thanks for the earlier visit. Happy WOYWW! Nan G #25

  18. LOL, clever you with the new header and what a star you are to use your time playing when you have no lekkie! I always look at these pages and think I should try it, but when I do… it doesn’t work out like other peoples’!! Hope you get your lekkie and internet sorted, nothing worse than both those important things being off at the same time! Happy WOYWW from Annette #4

  19. looks like you had alot of fun on your desk trying out all those techniques. 🙂 Brigita #139

  20. Creative mess, but now you have me curious as to what you were fiddling with that could of been ? ah the gelli is the best and it looks like you have been having creative fun, sometimes having the internet down gets things done. I was on the road working last week and for the life of me couldn’t get internet long enough to do anything, so I had to accept I was working not there for fun. LOL

    Happy WOYWW
    Eliza & Yoda 81

  21. Looks like your having alot of fun playing with all those different techniques
    Running a little late have a great week 🙂 hugs Nikki #5

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

