scrappystickyinkymess

Stamping Gear Experiments, failed and otherwise

2 Comments

This is scheduled because I am doing laundry and packing (yes, still) and I thought three posts in one day was madness.  I wanted to share some of my other experiments that had limited success.

1. Just using a stirrer as a paddle:

Cutting a bit of thick acrylic packaging and adding it to the stirrer sort of works.

stirredalone

stirreralone2

You do have to be sure to press quite firmly on the stamp part or risk a patchy image and be perhaps too careful with your positioning to make this really viable.

stirreralone3

2.  Making fun foam stamps

Not a lot different.  I traced the paddle on sticky-backed foam, then stuck that to a bit of plastic report folder.

make4gear make4gear2

I cut some Spellbinder shapes and stuck them to the plastic. I did that because the slick folder will be easier to clean up but in the end I trimmed close to the foam shapes anyway. Stamped with dye ink.

make4gear3

I painted some Tack it! to the fun foam base and stamped around the small gear.  The samples were just experiments, so not great but you get the idea. The 2nd one was laying on my desk resting on a baby wipe – DOH! You can see how I trimmed the “stamp” and, that the dot I added is only on one side – that helps create the pattern where dots on BOTH sides would really show up any mis-print if they didn’t match up perfectly.

make4gearsample make4gearsample2

3. Die D-lights medallions

This was odd.  Used another (bigger) home-made paddle and a fun foam medallion.  Just stuck it to the paddle with Herma re-positional adhesive, maybe because I didn’t think it would really work and didn’t want to waste my Tack it! (or maybe I am just lazy…)

d-litestamp

It actually stamped OK, with chalk ink.

d-litestamp2

So a few more experiments that you can either try yourself and maybe refine, or when you think I wonder what would happen if….? you at least see the pitfalls.

2 thoughts on “Stamping Gear Experiments, failed and otherwise

  1. You were so clever in your experiments with this effort. Actually I think all your experiments turned out quite well. I have some of those gear things but have not used them to date. Look at the pkg sometimes, and wonder why I bought them (they were on sale 50% off, is probably why). Your designs were very pretty, and you are very creative!!! TFS

  2. Those gears are very expensive here and so I have looked at them, liked the concept and wondered what I would use the finished product for…I do like your home made stamps though!

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

