scrappystickyinkymess

Using wood-mount stamps with the Stamping Gears

9 Comments

You did a double-take, didn’t you? Well it isn’t perfect, and if you are one of those I’ll do it 100 times until it is PERFECT stampers, look away now.  But if you are a bit more free-wheelin’ (and have loads of wood mounted stamps and don’t want to UN-mount them) this may suit you.  Sorry again (twice in one day!) for the loads of photos…

I had this sweet little image, perfect for a new baby card. The wood mount is about 1.25 inches square.

woodwithgearIt occurred to me that it was the coffee stirrer that worked as the nubbin to position things around the gear.  I saw no reason I really needed the paddle.  So then I just had to find an area of the mount where the stirrer would fit.

woodwithgear2

That is the first issue – there is little chance of there being space centred on the mount – but you will see that doesn’t really matter.  The spacing of the images is going to be the same, they just aren’t going to be centred under the notch.

Mark the stirrer for the length – I like to colour the extended bit with a Sharpie so I can re-use it and can see where to place it. I also mark on the mount where the stirrer fits.

woodwithgear3

woodwithgear6

I added a small piece of very strong double-sided tape to the back of the stirrer.  The tape will not adhere permanently to the wood, but if you didn’t care about keeping your stamps pristine, you could glue it to the mount.  I don’t think that would seriously affect its use later, so long as if you wanted to use it with a stamp positioner you rotated everything so you were positioning it on the bottom corner, away from the stick. It looks crooked here but it’s just the angle – trust me….

woodwithgear7

Now, you can stamp as you normally would, taking perhaps a little more care by positioning the stirrer extension in the notch and making sure the edge of the mount is hitting the gear on both sides of it. Not sure if this will help:

woodwithgear8

Stamp away.  As you can see it isn’t perfect (neither is my stamping, but then I am just showing my play, with no intention of these being used for a final project.

woodwithgear9

You should do what they tell you to do and rotate the paper rather than contorting yourself to stamp around – clearly I didn’t listen well…

Now, the other thing is it will seem that this will only work around the small gear.  Not so.  I think this will be hard to explain, but working in the inside of the big round gear, you may be able to see that the stirrer can’t actually fir all the way into the notch – the edges of the wood mount get in the way.

woodgearplace2

Thing is, that doesn’t matter.  So long as you make sure the edges of the mount are coming n contact with the edge of the gear, and that the stirrer is centred in the notch, you are going to get something that is acceptable – or is to me.

woodgearplace

This stamp is much bigger, more like 2 x 2.25 inches.  Working around the small gear:

woodsample

Working inside the big round gear (I think it was every other triangle marked notch although I think I lost track and stamped in the wrong notch there upper left)

woodsample2

and with a tighter spacing:

woodsample3

This means I can use all my odd-ball images happily.  I wonder if you wonder why I have a stamp of a bald – Bill Clinton?  Would it surprise you I have a bald Hillary on the flip side?

woodsample4

As you can see the coffee stirrer is mounted well off to one side, and still the circle effect is pretty OK.

Now, go off to play while I carry on with the packing and the laundry and the sorting out.  Have fun….

9 thoughts on “Using wood-mount stamps with the Stamping Gears

  1. fun! Love the tutorial, I’ll have to go to McDs for some stirrers;)

  2. Great tutorial and I’ve avoided buying those so far cos of the cost!
    Debs #74

  3. Oh my, what a great effect!

  4. Interesting idea and it seems to work really well…..but what caught my eye was the jumping victorian swimmer stamp-love it.

    • They are Edward Gorrey images – had them for AGES. I have that guy, plus a lady and two kids. They all have outstretched arms so with care you can almost make them hold hands 🙂

      MA

  5. Pingback: Tip: Use Wood Stamps with Stamping Gear | Stamping | CraftGossip.com

  6. Oh I am so wishing now I had bought the gears and cogs I saw on clearance dirt cheap!

  7. Pingback: The perils of organization | scrappystickyinkymess

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

