scrappystickyinkymess

WOYWW 208 – four years!

29 Comments

Hard to believe it’s been that long!  I’ve been doing WOYWW since November of 2009, which is just a bit after it started, and have loved it every week.  The regular snoop around desks all over the world has been fun, inspirational, and motivational. As I’ve said before, taking part in WOYWW also resulted (combined with the fluke of auto-fill of addresses in email systems) in me becoming part of the Ludgershall crop, which is another bright spot in my scrapping life.  All in all it has been, and continues to be, just the most fun.

But what you really want to see is WOMW so here it is – I am working on the photos for the little mini-book from yesterday.  I decided I would use photos of the kids together, and slice them in half, if I could, so the full photo covers the “pages” – a change from the Concertina mini I showed, from yonks back. I was actually surprised at how quickly I was able to find photos that worked!

photosYandM

Careful cutting between the figures is what is needed:

photosYandM2And you can see that lots of photos work well enough.  Aren’t they just so sweet?

photosYandM4They will fit the pages perfectly with just a bit of space for maybe a quote and some flat embellishments…

photosYandM3With luck, after visiting desks today, I’ll manage to get it if not done, then at least nearly done.  I’m excited – it’s been too long since I did a proper scrapping project!

So there you go – marking four years of desk-hopping with hopefully many more to come!  Looking forward to the 2nd annual WOYWW crop this weekend and meeting up with lots of desk-owners for a day….

Happy WOYWW!!

ATCs: Try though I might to get more done, I am stuck at the special one for the official swap and 5 additional ATCs.  Leave in your comment that you want to swap and I’ll sort it out with you via email.  Most people who comment have their email in their “form” so you shouldn’t have to add it in the public comment text.

And ARRGGHH!  It’s infuriating, and speaks to Julia’s comments on commenting and how difficult it has become, that I am unable to comment on her blog as Open ID is not supported, only Google log-in will allow you to comment.  Woke up with a jolt at 4:34, unable to go back to sleep, played solitaire for ages, then when WOYWW popped up no Mr. Linky.  Didn’t this happen last year for the 3rd birthday too?  It’s like it KNOWS we are all waiting on it and decides to have a glitch to make us crazy…..

29 thoughts on “WOYWW 208 – four years!

  1. There’s always a problem when you don’t have time – if Jan hadn’t rung at 6.30am, Iwould have headed out of the door without checking..t’was an early start this morning! LOVE the photo treatment, what a great idea. And oh – don’t the chlidren look little and un grown up….bet you have this done before the weekend..so then what are you going to bring??!

  2. I have been awake for ages, have some things whirring around!! Love the photos and how you’re arranging them. See you Saturday!! Helen, 39

  3. I like the idea of your mini journal and cutting photo’s in half I can’t wait to see more of this
    Wishing you and everyone a Very Happy WOYWW today
    Ria #50

  4. Happy 4th blogaversary and it’s great to have got to know you . Shame I can’t meet again at the crop. Love your concertina book… I’ve made similar but as usual you developed the idea further and better too.
    Donna and Dolores will be at the crop and I will be seeing them before too long so it might be an idea to leave the quilts with them for LillyBo. Hope that’s OK with you?
    Love Jo x

  5. Oh me likes the mini book, you have managed to find perfect photos for going on both halves of the pages! If you can hold on for a wee while then I will make a couple more ATC’s and send you one… would love to swap with you and this means you aren’t under any pressure to sit and make immediately!! 🙂 Happy 4th WOYWW Anniversary! Annette #2 (Will email you)!!

  6. What a great mini book idea. I’d never thought of cutting the photo in half. Happy 4th WOYWW.
    Pam#36

  7. Loved your mini book. The cut photos look really great, we’re impressed.

    Waving hi from the bears @#101 this week

  8. Don’t worry if you have to carry the quilts…. they can wait for collection until we next go to Brighton and we’ll do a detour and meet up for a coffee en route.
    Jo x

  9. I love the photo splitting idea, may have to try that! See you Saturday I believe! Take care Zo xx 79

  10. Photos look great.

    Happy WOYWW 4th birthday.
    ~Kate~

  11. It’s amazing that the internet can bring together so many likeminded people and I’m grateful that WOYWW has also brought along so many new friends, thanks to Julia.

    I love what you’re doing with the photos Mary Anne and the bit you’ve done on the previous post looks great.

    Enjoy your Wednesday snooping on this very special Day
    Happy Crafting!
    Sue @82
    x

  12. I love that concetina minibook, MA, and I’ve poinned it to have a go myself. Thank you. :o) Happy Wednesday and thanks for visiting. :o)
    Sue x (MiniOwner@86)

  13. For 4 years now i’ve been dropping by,
    To view your desk and see what I can spy,
    Will it be a card, some stash or ATC,
    whatever it is, thanks for sharing it,
    Have a Happy WOYWW 4th Anniversary

    Hugz Minxy #60

  14. Neat idea to split the photos. Happy 4th Anniversary!

    Fiona #153

  15. I have a friend that freaks out each time I cut a picture up…not like I can’t get another printed but it just grates on her last nerve…sacreligious ! Happy WOYWW 4th Anniversary. Have a great week. Vickie #14

  16. That’s going to be an adorable mini book!

    Happy Woyww,

    Sandy #146

  17. Love the idea of splitting the photos will give this a try myself
    Thanks for visiting already
    Happy 4th anniversary
    Jackie5

  18. I have to log into your site and add my name, blog, etc, so I can feel your pain. At least there are more blogger blogs than any others (grin).

    Nice idea to split photos. If only I were a scrapbooker!!

    Happy WOYWW4 from # 17.

  19. Nice project, those photos look great split! Happy WOYWW4, and I’ll see you Saturday (clutching a few ATCs if you have any spare)

    Cindy x

  20. Happy WOYWW4 and your mini book is just so kewl love the idea of it 🙂 hugs Nikki #145

  21. Hi Mary Anne, I like your photo treatment though I would never have thought of splitting them that way – the effect is good. The book is a lovely project. Happy WOYWW4, Elizabeth x #155

  22. Hi Mary Anne!
    I am the only Dolores (as far as I know) that participates in WOYWW but I am known as Cardarian! So yes I will be at the crop and I will swap my ATC with you! Looking forward to meeting you again my fellow American!
    Lots of hugs
    Cardarian alias Dolores

  23. happy 4th WOYWW anniversary, Mary Anne!
    i’m delighted to be part of this fun group
    and happy to get a chance to peek at your desk today!
    your project is looking good! and i also like the one
    in your previous post. looks hard to make!
    hugs,
    peggy aplSEEDS@11

  24. Hi Mary Anne
    I am the name above you are the recipient of my ATC could you send your address to my email and I will see that I get it posted out..
    Sandy_beach@y7mail.com.au
    Love your idea for your great scrapbook and how awesome are the photos you have chosen they work so well.
    Hope to hear from you soon.
    Happy WOYWW 4th Anniversary
    Sandy 🙂

  25. Hi Mary Anne – Happy 4th WOYWW Birthday… Mxx #137

  26. Hi Mary Ann,
    Thanks for your comment, and yes I’m off to make a mess again! Love your idea of cutting the photos to spread the pictures. Have you seen the French system called Azza? Not that I’d suggest you invest in the stencils, but the idea gives food for thought.
    I totally agree that Google has become a benevolent dictator, and I’m ******* over it. It’s just a lot of work to change to something else. I see you’re using WordPress which seems good by all accounts but then Google locks out open ID.
    My email will be with this message – delighted that I’m down the line from you. Thank you in anticipation. Sorry it’s taken a while to get to you with a busy week taking my attention.
    Warmest wishes for this special WOYWW.
    Ros. #28

  27. Hi Mary ann,
    Still have not received your address in my email could you send it to me please so I can get your ATC off to you for the WOYWW swap ..
    Email is
    sandy_beach@y7mail.com.au
    Hope to hear from you soon.
    Sandy 🙂

  28. Pingback: Me and You, You and Me minibook | Scrappy Sticky Inky Mess

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

