scrappystickyinkymess

Pretty? Grungy? Vintage? Project Life Month Cards…

6 Comments

I have seen a LOT of Project Life cards, both for sale and as printables.  Most of them seem to be more … I don’t know what … maybe Graphic Design style?   I’ve seen some that are rather cartoon-y, lots that are more my sort of style (text and colour and simple shapes) and while I’ve seen a few more vintage-style ones, they are not in the majority.  I wonder why that is?  Is it because the people who are likely to do PL like that style?  Is it that vintage-y things don’t “fit” as well with the style of the books and layouts?  Is it that people like me, who enjoy the designing process, tend to make things that are in keeping with the “official” Project Life stuff?  Honestly, you may laugh, but this kind of thing keeps me up at night LOL!

So I did my usual end-of-week check at The Graphics Fairy, to see what had been added, and I was so taken by this Menu graphic that I just wanted to do something with it.  I have a little project germinating in my head, and it mixed with what I was seeing and ended up as this little set of Month card printables.  I can’t decide if they are Vintage (too much colour?) or Grungy (maybe not grungy so much as Distressed?) but I DO think they are pretty.

They look like this:

prettymonthcards

A closer look, and a confession…. See the white bits of the design?  Can you see the little curl over the B is not coloured in?  And the one at the far right? Grrrr. I fixed them but then went and copied the wrong file to create the  cards.  I printed the whole set out, cut them up, and THEN noticed.  DOH!

prettymonthcards2

I had to go back and delete alllll the little frames and replace them with the corrected one.

whitecurl2Interesting, too, that the screen versions are all MUCH brighter than the printed versions.  Not sure if that is a printer setting I got out of whack or if it is the fact I need to change a few ink cartridges, or something else.

6 thoughts on “Pretty? Grungy? Vintage? Project Life Month Cards…

  1. I recently saw these frames on the Graphic Fairy’s website and saved them to use as nameplates below some pictures that are part of a heritage album I’m doing for a friend. You certainly took them to a new level. Love the cards and gave me a new idea how to use them. Thanks for your work and for sharing.

    • I did consider adding a page of blank ones – I could get 3 more on the last page of the PDF, and 5 on a 4th page – but I wasn’t sure if theY would be helpful. What do you think?

      Your album sounds lovely, and these will be perfect for it!
      Cheers

      MA

  2. Thanks so very much. I too look for more vintage PL cards. Yours are spot on. Would you ever consider making some cards for fishermen? I am surrounded by boys…most of the cards available are very girly or graphic.

  3. Thank you so much! I really do like these, and know that I will use them.

  4. Wonderful, I love them, thank you 😀

  5. TFS, I Love them!! They are lovely, I would appreciate some blanks ones if you’ve got time!

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

