scrappystickyinkymess

WOYWW 205 – Gelli again

26 Comments

I am prepping for a little demo at my crop this weekend so my WOYWW desk is covered with Gelli play.

woyww205desk

The prints are using a little technique (if you can call it that!) that I have been playing with.  What I do is dot the paint in areas of the plate, sort of scattered.

woyww205

When I brayer them to cover, I try to take care to keep them from mixing too much.  The pattern it produces is a little like ovals of colour.

woyww205a

You can see on the brayer how they are distinct, rather than one uniform mix.

woyww205b

It’s a way to get an interesting secondary pattern with no effort.  I like it.

woyww205c

And of course you can carry on with the usual masking and printing and stencilling.

woyww205d

Not entirely sure where I will go with them, but for now it’s just playtime!

Hope you have a great day!

26 thoughts on “WOYWW 205 – Gelli again

  1. Great idea with the pattern. I’ll have to try it too. Thanks for sharing it

  2. The gelli plate is absolutely addictive and I have a pile of wonderfully pattern/coloured paper but have still not done anything. But when the mood strikes I will be ready!!
    Sandra

  3. I still haven’t succumbed to the lure of the Gelli Plate. Methinks it would be too addictive!! Fab results. Happy WOYWW Pam#23

  4. Playing is so good for the soul. Not seen them here to purchase…probably a good thing as I blew my budget and next months too on dies! #30

  5. Love your ovals of colour! How clever they don’t all muddy into one… Have a lovely day’s prep. Helen, 5

  6. Aaaargh still haven’t had time to play with mine and I’ve had it a month! Now how would that skew your adoption rate curve? LOL, love what you’ve done, Happy WOYWW Cindy #59

  7. great looking prints. I still haven’t bought a Gelli plate and have read up on making my own but don’t think it will happen in the near future. I read the previous post about the viral aspects and I am definitely a laggard on most fad cause I used to jump on the wagon so fast and have a lot of great stuff that I hardly if ever use. Hope you have a great week. Vickie #36

  8. Just love my Gelli plate like you do
    I did a demo for a group of eight two weeks ago and got them all to try it
    They loved it
    Great prints you have made
    Jackie 8

  9. Super job! Love the colours and the effects you get with the plates. Take care Zo xx 65

  10. Great effect

    Thanks for sharing your crafty space and have a great week

    Candace #64

  11. You really have been having fun!
    Have a great week.
    Margaret

  12. Now that is a clever effect. We’ll have a go at that later, we’re more of a smudge and bodge effect but we shall try.

    Waving hi from the bears @#79 this week

  13. I am so inspired by your gelli work, I think I need to make a gelatin plate to play with;) Happy WOYWW!!! Lindsay #89

  14. Gelli plates seem to be the flavor of the year. May have to cave in and get some.

    Monica 109

  15. looks like messy fun:) Very interesting. Thanks for sharing. Snoop on
    http://carolescreativecritters.blogspot.com/

  16. Your croppers are in for a treat this week, Mary Anne. I did get waylaid by some of your earlier posts and I’ve pinned the fat numbers – I love them, thanks. Happy Wednesday :o)
    Sue x (MiniOwner@101)

  17. So fun with the Brayer! Love it! Happy WOYWW! Sandy Leigh #96

  18. Aaaahhhh, so THAT’S what a Gelli plate looks like! I’ve heard so much about them and never really knew what they were. But all is revealed :). I like the oval effect you achieved with the brayer, very pop art and graphic and bold.. My cup of tea!
    Looking forward to seeing you at the crop!
    Hugs, LLJ 33 xx

  19. Nice designs you are creating with your gelli plate. I only took a couple…I swear it! lol! 😉
    Happy Wednesday! SueC#120

  20. Thanks for sharing, I wasn’t really sure how people were doing the Gelli thing, now I know! Love the different effects you got. Have a happy crafting week!

  21. so cool!! Love the colors! Thanks for sharing!Have a great week! Ginny #120

  22. Looks like lots of colorful, artsy fun on your desk! Heidi #110

  23. Wow.. this looks so fun!! Love the beautiful colors. Thank you so much for sharing. ^_^

  24. Very nice prints! Thanks for sharing!
    Gabriele #112

  25. I have only played with mine once and LOVED it…you have inspired me to PLAY again. Happy WOYWW
    Dawn #didn’t get to post!

  26. I love the look of this gelli print stuff but I haven’t succombed to buying one… yet. I think it could be that arty farty pages and journalling pages are outside my comfort zone and I can’t think of anything else to do with them! LOL

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

