scrappystickyinkymess

WOYWW 204 – annoying

37 Comments

Well, my desk is getting a little ignored today.  I am finishing up my big quilt and am now to the stage I have to bury all the beginnings and endings of the machine quilting.  Not as many as there could be, but enough to be annoying. It’s spending the night draped over my chair so I have to deal with it first thing this morning!

woyww204a

The four long panels are all quilted, the sashing to join is done, I have a decision r two to make about a border. then I can start using it.  YAY! See those annoying ends?  Grrr.  Pulling up the bobbin thread has to be done but I wish you could magically tuck them in rather than threading each one, popping the knot, and burying the ends.

woyww204d

Here’s how it’s looking at the moment…

woyww204c

I have one more flip-flop box and had another shrine idea – much like Bathtub Marci, but….not.  We’ll see how it works out. Look back to yesterday to see her.  She is still making me smile. My desk is as varied as my projects – Gelli plate, needles and threader, boxes and leftovers from the chili clock.

woyww204

That’s my desk.  Off to check out yours…

Happy WOYWW!

 

37 thoughts on “WOYWW 204 – annoying

  1. Wow quilting is not my best crafting side but I so admire those who do it as it needs precise handiwork and yours is beautiful
    Bridget #9

  2. I love quilts! That is the one “sewing” thing I always wanted to learn!
    Yours is beautiful.

    Create With Joy – 11 and 12
    http://create-with-joy.com

  3. Love the quilt!
    Have a great Wednesday.
    Hugs Marleen #6

  4. Love love the quilt! Fabulous colors you’ve chosen. I used to hand quilt now I can’t hold the needle. So I’ll admire yours. Happy WOYWW! Nan G #5

  5. you are just too talented, mary anne! I love the colours and the pattern – most unusual!
    just gorgeous 🙂
    happy WOYWW and have a wonderful week!
    no. 1 again – how did that happen??

  6. This is the prettiest quilt I have seen a long time, just love the colors and the pattern you chose.
    Krisha #36

  7. Yes the ends are a pain but so worth it in the end! did you see my T!m quilt? its a couple of posts down from today – had a lovely email off him about it! Whoo hoo. Sunshine Girl 31.

  8. Looks like a beautiful quilt! I did go check out the bathtub Marci and laughed so hard i actually hit the wrong key and closed all my internet pages. It was so worth it. I wasn’t quite sure what you were describing, and I thought I knew where you were going…but the final product is priceless!
    Sara j#23

  9. Hi Mary Anne
    that quilt is amazing just look at the size of it and the amount of work that has gone in to it, you should be very proud of yourself.
    Your desk had some interesting things on it, I will be back to see what you do with it.
    Happy WOYWW #204 and enjoy the rest of your week
    Ria #44

  10. Your quilt is superb Mary Anne and such a treasure. I must admit that I use the locking stitch button on my machine at the end of a line, then I pull the threads to the back and snip ’em off! You have such great patience and quality of finish.
    Jo x

  11. Beautiful quilt, hope the tidying up isn’t too time consuming… LOVE the look of Marci on your desk, must come back for the full reveal… Helen, 3

  12. Loving your quilt, something I just don’t have the patience to do myself, but appreciate all the effort that goes into making one. Great little shrine too and your desk looks so loved and enjoyed. #55

  13. Wow that’s a big quilt …. Something I have never tried to do but am amazed at how lovely they look and how you do it !
    Jackie 7

  14. Your quilt is looking fantastic and the stitching is so well done. I was a dressmaker by trade so I know a good stitch lol! Beautiful work! Happy WOYWW.
    Janene #46

  15. Beautiful quilt! Love Bathtub Marci shrine in the previous post…Awesome idea. Hope you have a great week and thanks for sharing! Vickie #41

  16. I wish you’d quit being so damn productive…I’m running out of excuses in the face of your output. The bobbin thread thing is time well spent..you know it really..it’s a bit like hoovering the stairs. No one else notices but oh boy, they have to be done!

  17. Everytime I see this quilt I love it more …the design is clever and colours gorgeous. Bathtub Marcci below is brilliant. xx68

  18. the quilt it lovely… i like those little boxes too. Happy woyww jenx

  19. Great what you did with the flip-flop box! Jules

  20. I wish e could quilt, we could make our own bear patterned throw.

    Waving hi from the bears at # 91 this week

  21. Super quilt, that’s what gets me about sewing is how to tidy all those ends!! Desk looking fab as always. Take care Zo xx 77

  22. Lovely quilt, it will bw worth the effort!
    Karen #52

  23. Your quilt is stunning – love the colours and layout. Pity about those pesky little thread ends … a fiddly job if ever there was one 🙂 Hope you have a Happy WOYWW despite having to tie them off, Elizabeth x #92

  24. That quilt is breathtaking! I wish I knew how to quilt, what a usefull skill to have and make a one of a kind artwork! Happy WOYWW! Lindsay #93

  25. Bless – I had a go at “proper” quilting a while back and decided life was too short! Can’t say as I’m not jealous though…. LOL…..

    Thanks for stopping by!

  26. Your quilt is beautiful, wow! I really want to quilt but haven’t taken the plunge yet. #112

  27. your quilt is absolutely beautiful, and I love Bathtub Marci. She is so cute and funny!

    Kathi #129

  28. Eeerrrmmmmm, will you still speak to me if I tell you that I never finish off the bobbin threads…ever?? See, folks will work out one day that I am a true imposter and not a proper crafter at all. Whereas you, my dear thing, are amazing..that quilt is fabulous!
    Hugs, LLJ 26 xxxx

  29. WOW! Love the colors and your stitching is perfect. Happy Wednesday! Hugs, SueC#107

  30. Ugh! I so agree, I hate finishing things off! But the quilt is looking gorgeous! Had a peek at Marie yesterday, so cute! Thanks for popping by to see me, Cindy x

  31. Marci is intriguing to say the least. had to read past posts to find out what she was all about!! I’m impressed by your quilt too! patsy

  32. I can’t sew for toffee, not even chocolate, I have had a go, but yours look fantastic! A real keepsake Have a great crafty week
    HapPy WoYwW!?!

    ((Lyn)) #142
    so hope I’m not asked for a password….. I can’t remember it!!

  33. I dont sew, don’t really see any sence in it when one can have only so many blankets, after all there is papercrafting instead. I do like your pattern and I just love the bathtub stampotique.

    Happy Belated WOYWW
    Eliza & Yoda 126

  34. Absolutely stunning quilt and your pdf tute is really useful. thanks for sharing.
    Sandra @101

  35. I really like the quilt – I’ve not seen that pattern before. April #122

  36. Love thequilt! Happy belated WOYWW!
    Tertia #34

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

