scrappystickyinkymess

Painterly rosettes – with the Geli plate

3 Comments

I was thinking about this idea but needed to work out the best way to get a long enough strip with the 6 x 6 plate.  It finally occurred to me that as the rosette is folded, printing 1/2 the plate on one edge and the other half in a line, would work fine.  You don’t really NEED to have a continuous print with no obvious join or overlap, as the folding is going to disguise it anyway!

painterlyrosettes

You can see the top edge of the paper there above, where I sliced off the 1 1/2 inch strip to score and fold the rosette.  I’ve run out of the pre-cut Tim Holtz die rosettes that Julia very kindly brought me when she lent me the die, but I see no reason you couldn’t cut them, then print on the cut rosettes with the Gelli plate and then fold them.  I did it old school, with a scoreboard. Pretty, hummm?

painterlyrosettes2

I would think this would be a good use for prints where you like the colour but the pattern you are less keen on, if you had the bigger plate and didn’t have to intentionally 1/2 print along the edge to get enough length.

I also think that you could use the word strips that I have shared before to print on the Gelli print with your printer.  I already know printing works, as I did that here on the Gellibird:

gellibird2

and I am sure the word rosettes would work fine.  I can see it looking good on a clean-up print, where the colour of the print is painterly but quite light so the words really show.  It looks fine on patterned paper, so I am confident it will work!

wreathrosettes

No time to give it a go at the moment, but when I do experiment, I’ll be sure to at least add a photo.

A couple of tips: First, make darn sure your print is DRY.  If you are using a scoreboard, score on the BACK of the print – the bone folder might chip off the paint if you score too deeply or your scoring tool has quite a sharp edge.  Scoring the back will make no difference to the folding.  I would also suggest thinner paper.  This is using the Staples Text and Graphics paper (dirt cheap for a ream of 500 – maybe £6) which is I think about 125 GSM.  Thicker and the rosettes will score and fold less easily.

The thing is, while I just LOVE printing with the plate, I quickly amass piles and piles of prints and since I don’t really art journal and I don’t really collage, I kinda have to figure out a way to use them that fits the kind of stuff that I DO do.  This would look very pretty on a card front, with a Gelli print background in lighter colours, would look pretty hung up by twine in the window – a bunch of them would look even better – and is thin enough that it would work on something like my Gelliprint paper bag book or on a layout or for a rosette wreath.

Basically I think you can pretty much use a Gelli print as a substitute for patterned paper, for just a more “arty” look! I have one or two ideas to test out in addition to the printed word rosettes so watch this space!

 

3 thoughts on “Painterly rosettes – with the Geli plate

  1. I love them. And the fact that you know what you do and don’t do and continue to forge ahead and find a use…really interesting.

  2. Hi there,

    l love receiving your emails with what you’ve been up to – how do you find the time? I’m totally stopped today as l can’t work out what you have done……? To me it just looks like a painted piece of card made into a rosette. I can’t see any words nor can l make out what the paper is near the bottom. Also what is Gelli plate?

    Sorry to be so ignorant but l’m just lost today – sorry.

    Dawn in Madeira

    • Oh dear! Basically it is a synthetic gelatin plate used with acrylic paint for mono-printing, but that really tells you nothing useful 🙂

      Best thing to do it google “Gelli Arts plate” or go to their site http://www.gelliarts.com/ or blog http://gelliarts.blogspot.com/
      And you summation is not far off 🙂 It IS a painted piece of card (or rather a PRINTED with the Gelli plate piece of card) made into a rosette. The strip at the top is what is left from the printing process after I cut off the piece to make the rosette.

      HTH!

      Mary Anne

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

