scrappystickyinkymess

Tando Gelli clock

5 Comments

I picked up ne of the Tando clock kits from my local crop on Saturday and had the idea that it should be a Gelli plate project. I also picked up a nice little collection of basic paint colours from a local shop – under £8 for the whole set! They are slightly less paint than the little bottles, like Crafter’s Acrylic, but they work fine.

paintbargin

First I painted the surface – I did consider covering the surfaces with Gelli prints but it seemed easier to print from the plate right on the surface. I felt that needed the white base to make the colours show true.

gellitandoclock

I applied the paint to the plate, then did the usual, to add some interest, and pressed the center square first, so that got a good impression on the biggest solid area…

gellitandoclock2

…then just pressed the thin frame areas to anyplace that had paint.  They were really too thin to show much of a pattern, so I went for colour and interest.

gellitandoclock3 gellitandoclock4

I took the still slightly wet plate and added a nice dollop of thick white paint, and pulled the print on paper.

gellitandoclock5 gellitandoclock6

The stencils were still wet with paint so I pressed THAT onto the print and ran the brayer over the back to get it all to transfer.

gellitandoclock7 gellitandoclock8

I really liked the look of it, so I did similar, adding some yellow to the clock frame, then pulled that print too.

I used these prints to fill the gaps, and I have an idea I will be trying tomorrow to add to it. Here is where I am right NOW, but I’m not done yet….

gellitandoclock9

5 thoughts on “Tando Gelli clock

  1. Gorgeous! Looking forward to seeing where you take it next.

  2. Soooo cool! Have bought a gelli plate but not had time to play yet. We will talk!! Cindy

  3. I love it, wonderful creation with the gelli, just left a message about the next stage, my time is going backwards.

    Eliza

  4. I just bought a mdf clock so this has really given me ideas. I will have to perfect my gellying technique first! Were the paints good, I saw them in town today.
    Karen #61

  5. How fun is that?! Looking forward to the final results.

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

