scrappystickyinkymess

Shameful. And quilting (yes, AGAIN)

3 Comments

Well, by best intentions of yesterday to tidy up went sadly awry. Instead, I was consumed with sewing. I have the crumb blocks done and branched out to the Word Play.  I had to give it a go and see if I could follow the instructions in the book and actually make something.  I am determined to actually follow the Quilt as You Go concept for the whole thing so when I get done I only need to bind it.  I did a sample piecing of a couple of blocks and so far (knock wood) it’s going well.

Th thing that scares me is the machine quilting.  I cannot manage the lovely closely packed scribbles that I’ve seen, so I’ve opted for a simple cross, with stitch-in-the-ditch around, then a seconde square around.  I need to read up on dealing with the pulled-to-the-top bobbin threads, clearly.

crumbquilt2

I’ve picked quite a bright stripe for the sashing on the front, and plain black on the back, as the backing fabric is a B&W cow print. And the word ties in with the smiley sunflowers that are at the heart of the crumbs.

crumbquilt

Now, off to Hobby Craft with some shreds of the floss colour to get a better match, and then I have an idea that I THINK will work to add a bit more colour and playfulness to that improv quilt.  Need to get one small thing (although maybe not) to make it work.  It is totally a not-a-quilter idea, and actually uses something I’ve used in my scrapbooks for YONKS.  If it works I’ll share, and then all the real quilters can blanch and gasp and say Why, that’s crazy talk! But I am convinced I can make it happen so I have to persevere.  It is my nature LOL!

Oh and GRRRRR.  Spam and Spammers.  Hating them at the moment. Hating them as mush as I am loving reading up on “liberated” quilting…..

3 thoughts on “Shameful. And quilting (yes, AGAIN)

  1. Fabulous colour and design! However when I first looked, earlier, at a galnce, with my half awake eyes…. I thought for just one moment that it said ELVIS not SMILE…. DOH! Heh, heh, It must be my age catching up!
    When are you making a king sized one for yourself and I bet all the family want their own?
    love Jo x

  2. Looking good! I give you a lot of credit for attempting this. Will love to see the finished product.

  3. Beautiful work! I just love seeing your creations. As for the spammers, I found that changing my blog settings so people cannot leave anonymous comments took care of the problem.

    Hugs,
    Snoopy 😀

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

