scrappystickyinkymess

WOYWW 196 – more sewing

42 Comments

Hi there WOYWWers! I was totally MIA yesterday as I was hunkered down on my floor struggling with another small quilt.  I had 4 fat quarters, and some off cuts from an old project that went, a bit, and got it in to my head that I could make something of it.  I started by sewing the four quarters together.

4fatquarters

The bright yellow is a metre of fabric that I thought would work for the back.  I cut a 12.5 square right out of the middle.

4fatquarters2

 

Then sliced off the intersections and squared off the remaining bits.

 

 

4fatquarters3

That gave me some 6.5 inch squares, each with two fabrics. And a pile of plain squares too.

4fatquarters4

I started moving them about, and considered how to work in the off cuts (only two long but fairly thin strips, very wonky on the sides.)4fatquarters5

This is where I am.  It’ll get a border of the dark green and then I’ll see where I am.

4fatquarters6

It will certainly work out to be more lap-size (I’m thinking about 44 x 30ish maybe?) than even a cot sized quilt, but it’s not bad for such a minimal amount of fabric (and so far what’s leftover is laughable – almost NOTHING) and starting with no pattern or cutting guide at all.

Now I have to decide if I wimp out and tie it or if I have a bash at stippling it.  I think I need a lesson from a real person, as YouTube is good but it’s not really enough!  Maybe I’ll do a practice square and see how I get on.  But not till I desk hop 🙂   Happy WOYWW!

 

42 thoughts on “WOYWW 196 – more sewing

  1. This is going to be a very nice quilt indeed.Sometimes impromptu works out very well!

  2. I like how you sewed it together and then cut it up into pieces great idea..
    Sandy 🙂 #16

  3. truly, there is no end to your talents, mary anne! i’m in awe of any who can quilt – it’s such an amazing skill!
    yet again you pipped me – one day… one day… i WILL be number 1 🙂
    have a great WOYWW and a wonderful week!
    no. 2

  4. Mary ann you are so talented the quilt is coming along just great
    Jackie 10

  5. what a fab quilt and to do so without a plan or pattern is awesome , you are very talented. I like the colour too nice and cheeerful for spring.well done number 1 spot happy woyww have a fab week Andrea #14 x

  6. Congratulations on the No.1 spot. Fab quilting. I am still to actually start my very first quilt, but have signed up for a course starting in April, so some progress has been made! Ali x #22 (with Candy)

  7. What a fun project! I love how you just started and kept cutting and changing and laying out until you got what you wanted/liked. The no waste is a real plus too!! Have a great week.
    sara j #29

  8. …Some lovely work going on here! very clever to be doing all that quilting you quite tired me out by the end of your post 😀 great work!
    Thanks so much for sharing ~ happy WOYWW! Shaz in Oz. x #17

  9. happy quilting Mary Anne…thanks for sharing…happy WOYWW…hugs kath 28 xxx

  10. What great patterns! It will be a beautiful quilt. Have a fabulous day. Helen, 8

  11. gorgeous Mary Anne. I love the Spring Colours…………… this will be amazing when complete

    Happy WOYWW

    Hugs

    Annie G

  12. what a lot of work and thought you have put in to this quilt and it is looking fabby, the colours are wonderful very apt for spring really lovely
    Have a great WOYWW thank you for sharing your workspace today
    Ria #39

  13. Stippling?? What on earth is that?? Lol. Just when you think you’ve got to grips with something, then a new technique pops up….sigh, ’twas ever thus! I like and admire your going ho Just Do It method, it’s one I’m very fond of myself! Are you a pin rebel as well? Shaz Silver wolf has made a very fetching button for the sidebar if you fancy one 🙂
    Hugs, LLJ 32 xx

  14. Going ho?? blooming auto correct…..GUNG HO!
    LLJ xx

  15. I browzed through your blog quickly and saw your wonderful colourful quilt and the great PL Febr you did! It´s always inspiring to visit all bloggers at WOYWW.

    Have a nice day!
    Susan, nr 60

  16. Love that you are designing this yourself from scratch, its going to be Fab x
    Happy WOYWW Heather #59

  17. Lovely quilt, it looks wonderful!
    Happy WOYWW, Amy #71

  18. Oh my, looks complicated. Maybe I’ll rethink my plans to make a quilt for the first time!
    Jakix #85

  19. Love the quilt. My grandma made similar small quilts when I was a child. Thanks for sharing. It brought back memories.

    Hope you get a chance to check out my blog.
    Lori #107

  20. Love the fresh colours of the quilt, nice and Springy. Is it for Jo and LilyBo, or are you just making it for fun?

    Hugs
    Brenda 105

  21. Loving your quilt. The fabric patterns are so nice and love the colors. I adore quilts, but can’t sew a lick, so I live vicariously through those who can! Enjoy the day! Winnie #78

  22. Your quilt is going to be fab once it’s finished. A great idea to sew the big bits together then chop them up.

    Happy WOYWW Susi #84

  23. What a great peoject, needles don’t get on with us so we leave sewing to others and just admire made projects instead.

    Thanks for visiting the bears today.

  24. this looks great, love the idea of ‘just do it’ my first lillybo wa like that made it up as i go along.
    Please can you explain tieing and stippling…. it must be american, all dutch to me. I look forwar dto seeing it finished
    thanks for sharing and have a good week
    janet #43

  25. Good thing it is you and not me, there would only be bits to show for it! LOL

  26. What a beautiful quilt, lovely spring colours, you clever thing you! And, number 1 spot. Look forward to seeing the completed quilt, tied or stippled?!????!
    Carol.x #49

  27. Looks great! Love that green fabric – my favourite colour 🙂
    Have a nice day!
    Tuire #18

  28. I like how you started this and how it’s ending. Very clever!! Happy WOYWW!
    Carol N #101

  29. This is going to be quite lovely. I can’t wait to see the finished product.
    #141

  30. you are very creative . I like your style. Have fun !
    #145 KAT

  31. Very nice! Love all the colors and patterns! Thanks for dropping by and visiting my desk! Have a great week and I enjoyed getting a peak at your projects and your desk! Vickie #11

  32. Good for you! Love that you used all your fabric in your original design!

  33. I’m in awe of your quilt! I got lost even after the first bit of cutting! Sewing is sooo not my thing, although I would love to be able to. Can’t wait to see the finished piece. Thanks for sharing and Happy Woyww Liz at 147 x

  34. What a great way to repurpose a leftover! I love the pop of green. Looking forward to the finished project.

  35. Your quilt is coming along beautifully. Can’t wait to see the finished product. April #145

  36. Wow your quick at quilting just took a peek at your scrappy quilt looks fantastic 🙂 hugs Nikki (no desk this week)

  37. Great work of the jig-saw variety! The patterns and stripes look gret together. Lovely!
    Cheer for the week,
    Ros. #89

  38. Congrats on NO 1 great effort, love the quilt in works, I have never made one I just dont need another hobby. I do like your color choice, it really is coming together

    Happy Belated WOYWW
    Eliza

  39. Amazing! You are so talented! Lovely colors by the way. Um, what is stippling? I used to hand quilt don’t know that I’ve heard the term way back when… 🙂 Happy WOYWW! Nan #3

  40. Wow! You have been busy, I wouldn’t know where to start! I’m just starting my desk visiting as I rested yesterday so I could go to footy last night. We (Bristol Rovers) won! So I am a very happy Zoe today. Take care Zo xx 92

  41. Love the bright spring colors for the quilt. Brigita #121

  42. Gorgeous fabrics, and you make quilting look so tempting! Happy belated WOYWW! #113

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

