scrappystickyinkymess

Project Life addition – film strip pages

2 Comments

Missed out yesterday.  Hate that.

Anyway I am still doing my oddball Project Life album and was considering how I might add something of interest to it.  I am ALWAYS stumbling on things when I am tidying up and more often than not it seems to be the thing I find is just the thing I didn’t even know I needed LOL!

I have a whole binder full of plastic sleeves that are meant to house negative strips – remember them?  from way back before you could print your own photos at home? I think I bought a ton of them so I could get the negatives all in a binder but then the whole digital thing happened and they became mostly useless.  It’s been at least 5 or 6 years since I had a roll of film developed.

filmstrip2

Anyway, I was considering the idea of adding something that was based on my blogging.  More just a little trigger of what I was doing in my crafty life that week.  I was determined that the main body of the PL book would have photos of PEOPLE or EVENTS and not just various shots of my DESK, because the whole POINT of this exercise was to take more photos. But I didn’t want to ignore that aspect either.

Here is what I did.  This is working on the leftover from the actual sleeve so ignore the sizing.

First, I cut the sleeve down.  Mine has one slot, then a long strip, as you can see above. I cut just about 1/2 inch from the start of the long section. I cut away the little extra layer so the 1/2 section was just the back of the sleeve, if that makes sense.

filmstrip3

The top AND bottom of the long strip is open, and I needed to both seal the opening on one side, and give myself a strip for the holes. That was accomplished by wrapping Washi tape around the top.

filmstrip4

Then it was just a matter of taking one of the regular sleeves and lining up the holes then punching thru the Washi tape.

filmstrip5

That let me add the smaller page to my album, like so:

filmstrip1

I have it set up so I can add one strip per week – five month weeks I may cut them bigger.

You can do similar by rotating the sleeve and adding more like photo booth strips, using the 1/2 inch at the bottom of the sleeve to punch the holes.  At least MY sleeves have that strip – and you can see it in the top shot – maybe yours will too!

For making the film strip I just found a nice image of a film strip – this one is a .png so transparent and easy to layer your photos under the edges of the strip itself. I had to fiddle with it a bit to make it the 1.5 x 6 inch size, and not take up too much of the frames, but now I have it I can keep using it every month. Not sure if a whole row of the film strips might look odd, so I may alternate or even do film strips top and bottom and larger photos in the middle two sections. So many ideas to try!

I see no reason this couldn’t work in a true PL album.  It’s just a matter of figuring ut how to cut the sleeve to the right size.  I Think it is ALSO totally possible to attach the negative sleeve to the SIDE of the normal page protector either by sewing or with clear document tape so you could have a sort of flip out effect rather than a smaller page in the ring binder. something I am sure I will experiment with a bit more.

2 thoughts on “Project Life addition – film strip pages

  1. I have discovered a binder full of these (with a few negative strips) during my de-cluttering – I won’t throw them away but will bring them to the scrapping area instead. TFS

  2. idee tres originale bravo

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

