scrappystickyinkymess

Gelli play

1 Comment

I was anxious to get an order, and it came quite quickly so that made me happy.

gelli

I have been thinking of getting a Gelli plate for ages because I had an idea that I thought would work and really wanted to test it out.  But shopping is something I don’t do a lot so when I decided I just HAD to have some of Tim’s stamps and one of the Stampotique ones I have wanted since it came out, I finally sat down to order them.  And there was a Gelli plate on AFTH too, so I let it slip into my basket.

I decided to take a break from my organizing, while I worked on UKS stuff this AM, but the plate was calling to me. I just had to test my idea! And it worked!  Now, as is my way, as soon as I come up with something that I THINK is innovative, I check out the web to see if it is actually old hat.  Not old hat, but I did find someone (journal Artista) who had done my first idea already (but just a couple of weeks ago) – you can see her video here. It works exactly as I expected it  to and her samples are lovely.  But that still left me with another idea to try with the embossing folders. If you read here often, you know I am always brayering stuff on my embossing folders, so ….

I started out by brayering the paint on the Gelli plate, as usual then brayered a contrasting ink on one side of the folder and sort of “stamped” that over the plate

gelli2

The print was interesting but I think it is quite hard to keep the paint (and I am using cheap acrylics, not slow drying ones) wet while juggling the brayer, the folder AND a camera to capture the process! It’s blotchier than later samples, where I misted from a great height a bit of water to keep the paint moist.

gelli1a

I tried a few different folders, with varying success.

gelli3  gelli4

 

 

I think on this one I had the base layer of paint too thick.

gelli5

 

And I tried both the emboss and the DEboss sides of the folder, which gave different effects.

gelli6 gelli7

That is quite possibly my favourite example – I’ve cut it to make a card from.

I think the higher the contrast between your two paint choices the better, although not every combo works.  The yellow and purple got a bit muddy for my taste, and the purple paint was really old and needed more shaking than I gave it.

gelli8 gelli9

But another interesting thing – after you brayer the paint on to the embossing folder, there is a pretty nifty bit of texture on the brayer.

gelli10

For a couple of my samples I simply brayered that right on the plate and pulled a print. This one is from the first swirly one and for that I did a bit of a back and forth over the plate

gelli11

From the last sample, I did more a single pass so I was retaining the texture a bit better.  Worth playing with some more, I think.

brayer2

I really have to get back to work, and I still have more cleaning and organizing to do so I will have to save further play and more samples for later.  I am keen to try this out with layered printing, and at least one of the samples shows promise, but I need to refine the process before I share.  I can see this being a huge amount of fun, and already thinking I may need the bigger plate.  DOH!

One thought on “Gelli play

  1. So very interesting. THanks for the look into your ‘play time’, and thanks for the photos. They are most helpful. Have to try this, as I just got some acrylic paints that are supposed to be ‘pure pigment’ (USARTQUEST) and might do this technique well. Would make great backgrounds from that brayer (one of my challenge areas!) TFS

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

