scrappystickyinkymess

Tackling the Paper Mountain

7 Comments

If you recall I posted a photo of my paper storage, using the ArchLever file surround.  The IDEA is a good one, but the reality was it was all in a bit of a state.

woyww189My cardstock was all out-of-order, back from when I moved the shelf it sits on out of the direct sunlight from the window, and as I was organizing anyway I thought this would be a good time to tackle that.  HA! Just as I take a break from the annoying paperwork issue that is keeping me from my crop today, I thought I would post my progress from yesterday and a tip.

While I generally tend to organize my patterned paper into “kits” (made up to my own knowledge of my scrapping style) and split up un-kitted papers into groups like STRIPES/DOTS/VINTAGE/KID, I don’t split up my paper pads as I tend to use those as a set maybe 98% of the time.  You can’t really see them in the photo as they all sit on a shelf, in a bit of a jumble, above the two shelves you CAN see.  As I was trying to bring some order to them I had a great idea – to mark along the spine of the pad what the pad was so I could identify it easily.

Now I have a few, but I don’t have a ton of them, so I kinda know by name and maker, the style of the papers. MOST of the pads either have a glued spine, with the cut-off strip below the spine, or a fold of paper joining the back of the pad to the front.  This is what I write on.  IF the pad does NOT have an area to write on, either because there is no cut-off strip or no spine, I make a simple one from scrap card, like so:

paperpads

Fold, write, and stick it to the front and fold to the back, stick if you can.

paperpads2

If the pad has been decimated because I’ve used a lot of it in various projects, it goes in a bag with the spine on show.

Some of the paper packs are not PADS, but bagged, and usually quite a bit thinner.  For them I used some Martha Stewart stick-on tabs:

paperpads3

And that brought much-needed order to the chaos!

paperpads4

I am also making a few other changes – my friend Bev (she who created UKS) commented on a post many years ago when I was blogging scraps.  Her point was that if the scraps were in a DIFFERENT place than her cardstock, she never remembered to look at it.  Lightbulb! I am taking my scraps OUT of the hanging folders and putting them in bags and mixing them in with my cardstock.  I am moving the kitted bags into the hanging file, where I think it will actually be easier to flip thru.

I have a plan for my card kits too but will have to share that later.

But lest you think I am nearly done, check out the state of my room (and you can’t even see the mound of paper behind the door at the right):

chaosinpaper

And I have to share (although it pains me to do so) my ribbon bag of shame.  I found a couple of boxes where I stuffed odd bits of ribbon, or specialty ones that didn’t really fit with the plain colour bags on the back of my door. That needs tackling too! But not today. Sorry for the blur, but in this case that might be a blessing LOL!

ribbonbagofshame

Now, back to paperwork.  Ugh.

7 thoughts on “Tackling the Paper Mountain

  1. Great idea on your paper packs! I am going to use it if I may

  2. I´m sure this will be really great, when you get through it all sometime soon, and I can´t wait to see, how it all ends up, when you´re all done with everything there. I really like this idea with the paper, and may get on the look for one of these hanging file systems here. I must admit, that I´m a bit of a horder, when it comes to paper, but what can one do? I just absolutely LOOOOOVE pretty paper he he, so I have quite some, and it can be really hard to find the ones, I´m looking for and often it ends with I´m using something else than I first planned, because I can´t find it. I often feel, I spend more time on looking for things here too, than actually use them, and then it begins to be a problem I´m afraid, but this sounds really good to me too. Thanks sooo much for the inspiration, now even I can hopefully get some things sorted out too he he he.
    Have a wonderful week-end.

  3. My room looks like that too.

  4. Oh does YOUR floor look like MY floor! Additionally I have a bunch of plastic bins, containers I bought hoping to use for organization – cluttering up the mix. I like your ideas. I don’t scrap, but I’m thinking of cutting my 12×12 into 8 1/2 x 11, to fit into folders, in hanging folders, by color. I have a ton of the 6×6 packs, so the spine labeling idea is one I’ll see if will work for me. At the moment, I scooped those from Christmas up off the floor into a big plastic bin. (Well, I won’t need to worry about those for a few months, huh?). Thanks for taking time to post the pictures too. It certainly helps.

  5. I have trouble with my 12 x12 papers. I have them in carriers, and files and shelves. Yikes. I do have my paper pads under control though. I put then in shoe box size rubbermaid carriesr and then use dividers for MME, Bo Bunny, or by theme like Valentine or Halloween. That way I can grab the carrier and bring it to my desk. I also taped an envelope on the back of each paper pad and add the scraps into that so they all stay together. I do use a little clip on the top of some pads that are coming apart. That works slick!

    • I like the idea of adding an envelope to hod the scraps! Some of my pads have a punch out sheet or a sheet to cut and once you start punching or cutting things out they have a habit of slipping out of the pad when you take it off the shelf. It is solve by putting the pad in the big bag but I am running out of them 🙂 oso an envelope will work great if I staple it to the inside of the cover with the opening accessible. Yippee!

      Thanks for the tip.

      MA

  6. If you’re a crafter, reading about organisation is never boring! Thanks for sharing all your efforts. 🙂 I haven’t yet sorted out how I will organise all the freebies from the Craft Stamper, but most of my organisation is not too bad, considering!

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

