scrappystickyinkymess

Adding Wooden Stamps – this will work!

18 Comments

A lot of comments from the last post regarding how people organize their stamps – thanks for all the info.  It shows clearly that everyone finds success in a different way.

One commenter, PeeJay, mentioned her “catalogue” of stamps, and while I initially thought so much work! the idea stuck with me.  In discussing the need to search through multiple storage solutions, especially regarding wood mounted stamps or even foam mounted ones that are too bulky to fit in a binder, it occurred to me that a mix of what I was doing, and her catalogue idea would suite me perfectly!

My wood mounted stamps are all in drawers in those rolling stacks, all sorted into loose groupings, like SCENIC (leaves, trees, grass, etc with a corner devoted to SEA related things like waves and sandbanks), ANIMALS (including odd animals like winged pigs or cows with globe-spots or purely fantasy animals as well as bees, butterflies, spiders, etc), HOLIDAY (pretty much all Christmas), Weird People (like Gorey-dancers, hairless Bill and Hilary, shocked nuns, and all my Stampotique stamps)  and TEXT.  So they are all in one place and I know the WHERE of them pretty well as I have not changed that is a decade.

I wanted to save myself the senior moments of forgetfulness, grabbing the binder of clear stamps to work on a project then realize halfway through it that I had the PERFECT wood mounted stamp that I had forgotten all about.  The catalog aspect would help me get the INFO, if not the actual STAMP,  co-located with the clear ones.  Since I have not-a-ton of wood mounts, it didn’t seem that daunting a task, not like cataloging all my clear stamps would be. Here is what I did:

I took a plain white sheet of good weight cardstock, A4 like the protectors are, and grabbed one sub-set of my stamps.  I stamped the image with brown ink (as an immediate visual cue that it was a wood mounted stamp – maybe I will use something like blue for the foam ones) on the sheet, punched the holes to correspond with the ring binder and now can add those sheets right mixed in with the sleeves of clear stamps!  No more forgetting – when I go to a section to look at the clear ones I can easily see that I should be looking at my wood-mount drawers if I see something I like better.

addingwooden

Then in the binder with the clear ones in the same group:

addingwooden2

The best thing is where I have wood mount stamps that might best be sorted in two places I can stamp it on two sheets and have the reminder in every section.  Not sure if it is worth stamping the clear ones so I can put the image in another section as well. It might be one of those occasional things – let’s say I am looking for a circle with text in it.  I THINK I would go to CIRCLES first, but if I had a momentary lapse and went to TEXT instead, when I then eventually found the stamp in CIRCLES I could take a fresh sheet, stamp it, add it to the TEXT section.  Then I would be doing it as an ongoing thing, but not a huge undertaking.  And if I NEVER get confused about where something is, I never have to take that step IYKWIM.

But that’s not all – another commenter, Lillian, and I talked about Pokemon sleeves (the same ones I am using for my Project Life style album) and we both had the same idea – using the sleeves for small stamps.  I had the particular idea to use them for my very small sentiment stamps.  I had taken one of the report covers and cut it to ATC size.  I stuck the sometimes quite tiny stamps to it then inked the entire set.   Pressing a piece of cardstock to it, I got the impression of the whole set of sentiments.  I slipped both of them into the sleeve and BINGO!

addingsentiments

For small ones, this let me group all the like ones together, so if I want a Birthday greeting I can see them all at a glance.  When I get new stamps, I think I would do what I’ve done here and cut up the backing sheet that has the image printed on it, and leave the stamp on there when I slip it in the sleeve.  The sleeves do have a different hole spacing on them so I have to re-punch them, but that is not a hassle to do at all.

I would do wood-mount or foam mount sentiments stamped on the plain card, and just locate them with the sleeves.  Larger sentiments would go on the report covers.  Cling stamps seem to cling to the report covers as well so I am adding in the few of them I have (when I have just one or two – I do have a whole box of what I call TEXTURE stamps, like for adding mesh or dots or a checkerboard to an art journal page or card background, that I will keep in the boxes) Some things are so unique (like sets of MONA LISA stamps, or Alice or the Lil’ Grumblies) they are well housed in the CD covers.

Still only about halfway through but at least I am sure of the process and the rest of it is just working thru the boxes and CD covers, stamp by stamp.  Well worth it to familiarize myself with what I have!  I have a few ideas already, just from refreshing my memory about ones I haven’t used (or even thought of) in YEARS.

Hope the ideas help you out – and JOZARTY, I mean YOU!  So glad I caught you BEFORE you went down the CD case route.  At least it gives you something to think about and your decision will be an informed one LOL!

18 thoughts on “Adding Wooden Stamps – this will work!

  1. Now I hadn’t thought about adding the wooden stamps to my catologue – lol! I don’t have too many so could quite easily do that 🙂 Glad my idea helped you and now you’ve helped me. It’s good to bat ideas around, isn’t it?

    • Funny indeed that we all get inspired by each other, and it only takes a stray comment, or a glimpse of a photo to send us off on a journey 🙂

      Sorry if my idea now makes more work for you LOL!

      MA

  2. I’ve been doing this for a while, and it’s really helpful to me for finding “that” stamp without opening every single stamp container I have. I do have some in CD cases, but those are stamp sets which often have some very tiny pieces. The hard part for me, is to keep making the catalog and not start making cards, layout backgrounds, embellishments, etc lol.

  3. Well I was pleasantly surprised to see my name mentioned in your blog!! While reading your article, I realized that I hadn’t mentioned some of the smaller foam stamps and my wooden ones fit in a drawer. I did what you did – stamped the stamp on a paper but placed it in the drawer as a lining. I think I will make a copy of these stamps and insert it in the binder so I don’t forget where the stamps are. (I don’t like having senior moments!!) Since these foam stamps are smaller they fit perfectly into these smaller drawers(which was bought for $1.00 at the dollar store). Now everyone has a home and the gr-kids can easily bring it to the table to use for stamping! They are only allowed to use the foam stamps and have their own ‘ink’ pad that comes to life with water. This way they know where to put them away! For Xmas I made them a set of drawers for their stamps at home. Their mom loved it since it blended in with the kitchen decor. Thanks for the inspiration and at the same time it encourages me to straighten out my stamps, an otherwise tedious chore! Have a great day!

  4. I believe in giving credit where credit is due 🙂 When I see (or read) something that sparks me off, if I don’t mention where the ide came from I’ll be sure to forget it! Senior moments indeed.

    MA

  5. like all your ideas for organizing stamps. I used to be a SU demonstrator. I have so many stamps, especially wood ones, that I don’t know where to start. I am going to use some of the ideas that you offered, and I am going to sort through the ones I don’t like anymore and get rid of them. Thanks for the ideas.

  6. I stamp or scan every stamp I have. I have a 3″ binder that I use to keep my images in. They are seperated by the traditional catergories: military, birds, babies, trees, all holidays, etc. I buy the cheap photos boxes from HL with a coupon, of course, and place each catagory in a seperate box. In my 3″ binder I number what box I have place my specify stamps in. Like flowers I have a bigger plastic box and also christmas or whatever. This took me a while to set up but it has been well worth it. Oh, on the front of the photo boxes you can put the number of the box and what kind of stamps are inside. When you are ready to look for a certain stamp it is real easy to go thruough your binder and choice one that will work best for your project, see the number of the box and use that box to find your stamps. I have the cd cases, the wooden stamps and they are all combined by subject. Good Luck making a decision on all the great suggestions. It’s really what works for you the easiest.
    Jo Haynes

    • I know me and I know I would NEVER be able to carry that through. 🙂 Even with my librarian roots (and it reminds me of the card catalog when it was on actual cards!) in that you have to find the stamp then FIND THE STAMP IYKWIM. I would end up bypassing the looking in the index part and just flip thru the binders 🙂 But I am in awe of your organizational skills, even if I know it would never work for me.

      Cheers.

      MA

  7. Lovelly post and some wonderful (and timely) ideas. I’m in the process of just listing all my wooden stamps into a spreadsheet (they haven’t gone back into their drawers yet!). I should do exactly what you said here (well, if my laziness doesn’t get in the way). A friend of mine has been doing what you described for years, and she has every bit of info re: a specific stamp on a master book file. (ie, year bought, price, mfg co, sizes, etal). She started this file when she didn’t have a lot of stamps (she’s disgustingly organized, drat her), and suggested I should do this. Didn’t have all the stamps I have now, but didn’t take her advice. NOW that I have so many, I’m surely wishin’ I had. It’s hard enough just listing in a spreadsheet, trying to think of the best ways to set up the sheet. Thanks for all these great ideas…And good luck with your organization effort. Had to laugh at the senior moment comment! I have LOTS of those. TFS

    • blimey! While I do very occasionally want to know who’s stamp set it is, one of the huge freedoms when the mag stopped publishing was that I no longer CARE who make what, where I got it, or how much it cost me 🙂 The only time it comes up is if I use something and someone asks. Again, shock and awe at the amount of effort and an admission that my excessive laziness simply would never allow me to follow thru. But you make an excellent point – the sooner you begin a project like hers (or even mine) the better off you will be. It’s far easier to do a handful of stamps a month in one session than the (so far) 3+ days it’s taken me to get slightly over 1/2 done. DOH!

      MA

  8. Fascinating. I do not have a storage solution for my clear stamps and I hate that. And them, actually, although I use them alot! My wooden stamps are on shelves, facing me. I don’t have a need to catalogue them, I remember what they are through years of staring at them!

    • OK so I’ve seen your posts about not having a lot of room – I am guessing I have far fewer wood mount stamps than you do and there is no way I could find the room to have them on display! Shelves can’t possibly be enough. Do you have them hanging on strings from the ceiling?? Knocking you on the forehead as you walk, tall and willowy with a swan like neck, thru your room?? Do tell…..

      😀

      MA

  9. Hi, I enjoyed your article. I, too, have used binders to catalog my stamps since I started stamping in 1995. This has been invaluable tool. When planning a project, I can easily flip though it to identify which stamps to use, to compare size and style, and if necessary, trace the image to do a mock up plan. (Especially helpful when you want to see if the image fits in the intended frame without locating all of the components.) My first job when I purchase a new stamp is to add it to my binder under the relevant tab divider. Sometimes, a stamp may be stamped in several different categories. Text that goes with birds may be stamped with the birds as well as under the text tab. I often make notes in my binder about ways to use the specific stamp or where it is stored. Lately, I have been adding the manufacturer since clear stamps are often not labeled and this can be important information if you are submitting the card for publication. I liked your idea of color coding the images by mounting type: brown for wood, blue for clear (red for cling rubber?).

    As my collection has grown and the different mounting systems have evolved, I have employed various storage systems. Currently, I sort stamps by subject into boxes or drawers by theme (Christmas, Easter, flowers, etc.) Some unmounted stamps are in the boxes/drawers in CD cases. The problem is the clear sets which can contain many diverse images within one set. I keep those sets in a separate box and make a note in my catalog.

    I also use a binder to catalog my punches, embossing folders, dies and inks. I like to have examples of the different ways the punches can be used so I don’t forget the many possibilities. For example, corner punches can be used to make interesting medallions or doily-like circles. Keeping track of your ink pads also prevents you from buying duplicates. And, since I share my dies and embossing folders with a few friends, I also maintain a spread sheet of “who has what” so we can borrow instead of buy these expensive tools. The spread sheet can be easily sorted as necessary and copied to carry with you for unexpected sale events.

    To sum up, while it’s great to be organized, the most important thing to remember is to just have fun with your supplies. Happy stamping and enjoy being creative.

  10. Thanks for the idea(s)…I went to Staples yesterday for the supplies and will give part of your idea a try. I have 80 pizza boxes for my wood mounted stamps, all labeled alpha and by category, sub-category if full box, as well as a few boxes by designer….Words as a category and then by sub category (thank you, birthday, etc.) I store these on shelving in my garage, and this system has worked well for over 5 years – no problems. My cling stamps are in with the wood, but all clear and unmounted rubber are just in plastic boxes…out of sight, out of mind. Do not think binders are a good solution for me since they would have to be in the garage, but will try your method to place the cover sheets in the page protectors and then place in the appropriate pizza box with all the wood and cling stamps…only one place to look. Sure hope this works for me as I would like to know what I have – will be like Christmas!!!!

  11. Additionally, an Excel spreadsheet for EACH category is an easy way for me to keep track when I am shopping of what I have listed in columns: dies by mfg., # and name; inks by color and name; pencils by color, name and #; Copics by name and #, etc. When I buy something new, I send an attachment of the spreadsheet I want in an e-mail to myself with the date and category name in the subject line….it shows up on my i-Phone as well as my i-Pad and I open it and save it in Numbers – now when I need to know if I have a certain ‘Cheery Lynn Design’ die, I open ‘Dies, Cheery Lynn’ spreadsheet and I have a full listing of my Cheery Lynn Design dies. I use a spreadsheet for EACH type of supply for example: my Copic markers; another for my Spellbinder dies; another for my ink pads, by type and reinkers denoted by an R; etc. (a spreadsheet for each one that I have a lot of – and combination when only a few). NOTE: It is easier to read on your phone if you list columns vertically with only (heading: Spellbinder; a column for die#; a column for die name; a column for type (like Nestability) columns going across the page. This allows you to easily read thru on your phone, as well as sort by #, name, or type as needed. Yes, it does mean a lot of spreadsheets, but if you have a lot of supplies, it saves you a BIG headache in trying to locate where on one spreadsheet your item is listed….all I have to do is go to the Spellbinder spreadsheet and scan down the list by number!

  12. My friend told me about this idea before as a method to organize stamps and you’ve done such a wonderful job with it! It looks like it would work.
    Thanks for stopping by on WOYWW#188

  13. My catalog has been invaluable to me. I’ve been known to cart it with me to the store to insure I don’t buy anything that I already have (or similar enough).

    I really like the idea of adding the stamp storage location to the catalog. Today I was going through all of my drawers looking for a particular stamp. Never did find it and I KNOW it’s around somewhere.

    How nice it will be to start the new year with your space all neat and organized. I fear that is too daunting of a task for me to take on right now,

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

